PDA

View Full Version : Help with lowering

Kirbs17
09-19-2004, 09:18 PM
Im a complete newbie when it comes to modifications for cars, and I was just wondering what would be the best method to lower my car (1999 VW Jetta). Im only looking for maybe a 2 inch (max) drop on my car, just to give it a more aggresive stance.
Thanks guys

-Kirby

GTS Jeff
09-20-2004, 11:52 AM
if u dont care about handling, ride quality, or safety, then the best method is cutting the stock springs.

what exactly do u want other than the look?

@lchy
09-23-2004, 03:53 PM
some people even heat springs while under the cars weight and let em cool, it will give you terrible ride quality, safety and handling but you don't even have to lift the car off the ground. careful not to melt any bushings or barke lines:poosie:

PhatGT
10-14-2004, 09:43 PM
LOOK INTO KONI ADJUSTABLE COILOVERS, THEY ALLOW RIDE HEIGHT ADJUSTABILITIY. I HAD THEM ON MY VWUB THERE SWEET, CORNORS @60MPH+!!!!

DonJuan
10-18-2004, 12:01 PM
Originally posted by @lchy
some people even heat springs while under the cars weight and let em cool, it will give you terrible ride quality, safety and handling but you don't even have to lift the car off the ground. careful not to melt any bushings or barke lines:poosie:
if you do do this don't heat em up for long as the car drops quickly. I good way is to cut a piece of wood to the height you want the fender to be and use that as a guide. Heat the spring up until the fender sits on the wood... repeat 3 more times. This way it will be sitting fairly even. The better option is cutting your spring... or better than that... just get some cheap ass lowing springs off ebay: from a great company like dropzone... ;) http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7927734283&category=33586

sebringLxi_girl
10-22-2004, 07:57 PM
hey be careful though I gotta friend that crushed his hand lowering a truck?!?!??!?!:burnout:

freekstile
10-23-2004, 09:22 AM