PDA

View Full Version : How do you do it?........

H4LFY2nR
09-22-2004, 12:26 AM
How do you guys afford to drive while at university. I'm in first year engineering and now I have no time to work to pay for insurance and gas. Is there any hope for me to drive before spring? Any suggestions welcome.

finboy
09-22-2004, 07:44 AM
time managment, i saved up a couple paycheques at the end of the summer so i don't NEED a job until the end of october, after that i'll be looking for the highest paying job i can for the weekends.

more pay means you won't have to work as many shifts to make the same money :thumbsup:

Mckenzie
09-22-2004, 07:51 AM
My school is more important than trying to earn a few hundred bucks every couple of weeks. I have not worked over the past two years and I dont plan to work over the next two.

I have a line of credit that I can draw from where I just pay interest. Debt sucks, but so does academic probation and stressing about studying when you are working. I try to save enough during my summers to cover what I can during the year. Even though I am in the hole pretty far, I would much rather have some debt to pay off after school when I get a good job with a high GPA than spend that time working and letting marks suffer.

Also, if you keep your marks high, like around 3.7, you will get scholarships. These can be $1-$2000 at a time which can go far.

E36M3
09-22-2004, 08:14 AM
I would recommend working like a madman all summer long and saving as much as possible. In addition, student loans are the cheapest money you will ever get.. if I had to do it again, I would rack up as much in student loans as humanly possible (I didn't take any at all thinking debt is bad, but have since changed my mind on that)

Mckenzie
09-22-2004, 08:20 AM