PDA

View Full Version : On buying an older used car

el_fefes
10-07-2004, 04:12 PM
I'm a student and I'm wasting too much time on the bus... I think it's time to buy a car. I think I can afford around 5 grand if i get a loan from the bank, but I don't really want to bem further in debt having student loans and all. My question is, if I buy an older car, say 88-90 would I be spending a lot on maintnance? Would it be better to buy a newer car which could have less "issues"?

FiveFreshFish
10-07-2004, 04:18 PM
Before you go any further, make sure you can afford insurance.

SaabKraft
10-07-2004, 04:19 PM
88-90's are usually a good bet as long as they've not been bagged. might need a new clutch, brake pads or timing chain/belt, but as long as it's been taken care of, you'll be in luck.

$5 grand should get you a great car, IMO.

i had an 89, which was great, then i sold it for an 85 with a shitload of problems (electrical), but i'm rebuilding it so no biggie.

newer is better, but i kind of like pre- 90's cars in general. less systems to go wrong (newr cars usually have ABS, power everything, airbags, etc etc etc)

older cars seem to be simpler, and easier to work on yourself.

Xtrema
10-07-2004, 04:22 PM
Didn't you ask this question earlier?

Never mind, different guy, but all the same advice are here:

http://forums.beyond.ca/showthread.php?s=&threadid=60847

BTW, my advice, if insurance, parking, gas and interest on loan of car is more than rent, move closer to school. What's tying you down to your current home?

How long of a bus ride? Under 1 hr each way is quite acceptable.

So...., you don't drive a 99 Altima as you say in your Av?

statick
10-07-2004, 05:18 PM
going with an older car would be good, but get an inspection and run the vin. i would buy honda/toyota/nissan

el_fefes
10-07-2004, 05:24 PM