PDA

View Full Version : Porsche 944 restoring/repairing

iiinycboi
10-10-2004, 11:06 PM
Ok, so i just got a porsche '86 944 from my brother. I want to restore it to a good condition, so i can bring it to the track. The problem is i have little knowledge on car mechanic. I would like to get the car running before i start restoring other parts of the car. The problem right now is, the car starts but its stuck in gear. I cant get it out of 1st gear. The clutch seems to be fine and everything else. Maybe its the transmission fluid? Should i bleed it and check the fluid, or it could be the gear box? Thanks

Redlyne_mr2
10-10-2004, 11:12 PM
Can you get it out of first when its not running? One great site for Do it yourself maintenance is www.clarks-garage.com. Great choice on cars

iiinycboi
10-10-2004, 11:25 PM
nope, it doesnt want to release itself from gear even when the car is not running

statick
10-11-2004, 09:55 AM
well thas pretty fucked up, but rage2 has or had a really nicely done 944, maybe he can help u out.

iiinycboi
10-11-2004, 10:04 AM
k cool, should i pm him or wait for his reply heh

Zero102
10-11-2004, 10:49 AM
Oh dear, not another un-educated 944 owner.
Alright mister, march on over to forums.rennlist.com, and forums.pelicanparts.com, and start reading, now!!

hehe, had to do that.
Between Rennlist, Pelican Parts, and Clark's Garage, you should be able to get through anything that car throws at you.
Now, first order, when was the timing belt last changed? If you don't know, don't start it. They're interference engines, and are very very expensive if the belt snaps. That's the first thing to check on any 944.

There are a few of us 944 owners on the board that can probably help you out, providing you do live in Calgary iinycboi. If you ask my girlfriend, I am terrible for meeting porsche owners online and helping them out =)

statick, wait, rage2 HAD a 944? What happened to it? I haven't gotten to see it yet.

statick
10-11-2004, 10:55 AM