PDA

View Full Version : Question about getting first Car!

Dudek
10-16-2004, 07:39 PM
Hey everyone, I'm 20 and still havent had my own car because my parents are pretty kool and I pretty much have a car whenever I want.

Recently in the past few weeks I have been really getting interested in cars :). Main reason is I like anime and I watched this one called Initial D and it sparked my interest even more. So now I want to learn as much about cars as I can.

So far having read a bunch of posts by other members here alot of people are saying to get an old beat up car for your first car so you wont be so mad if you crash it.

The thing is I've been driving legally now for about 4 1/2 years and havent once gotten into an accident, gotten a few fines thogh :thumbsdow . I've probably been driving standard for.... I dunno roughly 8-9 years. I'm not 100% sure all I know is first time I ever learned to drive was in a standard and I was young lol. First started with sitting on my dads lap and steering, then I learned how to shift into gear and finally learned the pedals. I love standard no matter what anyone else says, I will never buy an automatic for myself because I just love being in control of my car. Alot of people talk about it sucking when your in the city cause you have to shift alot but thats what I love about standard I love shifting!!!!

So I'm fairly confident in my driving skills, I've also recently drove 20min to my work in a big rain storm with no whippers on a highway in traffic! Let me tell you that wasnt fun at all but I didnt want to turn around cause it was like my 2nd week working and I didnt want to start off bad lol. I know the smart thing to have done was to pull over and wait for the rain to stop but meh I took my chances and I was also confident in my driving heh.