PDA

View Full Version : U.S. electronic voting flawed and filled with back doors.

shadow
11-12-2004, 12:52 PM
Well the election has come and gone and I have no urge to do the who won debate...

However I found something disheartening at the very least.
I was talking with a friend about the U.S. election and I brought up electronic voting machines and made some comment about it being a interesting idea. When I mentioned that he blew me out of the water claiming all sorts of back doors and problems. Initially I said that it was supposedly incredibly safe and everyone is endorsing it. (I thought he had his facts wrong at first) He said that people were able to get onto a ftp site for diebold and get files relating to the programming. He showed me all the files he supposedly got from the ftp site... these really meant nothing to me because I am no programmer. I still did not really believe him completely but it did sound interesting so I thought I would wander around the net to see what people were saying.

A little bit shocked I found quite a bit of information.
Not only did I find numerous articles about mis counts because of these machines... but when the polling stations asked Diebold about the mistakes... they would respond that the discrepancies does not matter.

Now correct me if I am wrong... but tabulating votes is INCREDIBLY easy programming.. when I was in junior high I programmed a simple voting programs and it was easy. What I do not understand is how a huge corperation cannot get something so basic correct.

I found some interesting documentories on the subject I particularily liked this one.
http://homepage.mac.com/duffyb/nobush/iMovieTheater268.html