PDA

View Full Version : Decent turbo setup for 1999 SiR (B16A2)

heavyD
11-29-2004, 09:15 AM
Originally posted by A790
Alright, within the next while (whenever I can save the cash) I want to turbocharge my SiR.

What will I need and how much will it cost, including the install (I am not a mechanic by any means). As well, could the car be used as a daily driver?

I'm looking to run probably 7 psi (to be safe). I want an intercooler and a nice blow off valve. I want something that will spool up relatively quickly and still pull nice and strong as I yank it toward that 8,000rpm redline.

Any ideas how much such a setup would cost? I am on a budget here and need to know how long it will take for me to save the cash :P

Leave the car stock! You are going to end up spending thousands of dollars for short term enjoyment and long term problems. If your Honda isn't fast enough for you buy a faster car. I love Hondas but there is a reason factory turbocharged cars are all the rage now.

eclipseqt
11-29-2004, 01:01 PM
Do it yourself and you will save thousands however, the Honda is not built for a turbo so if you leave the internals stock, an internal clock is ticking.

I think $7000 is quite steep, that's just for the turbo, install and tuning. Not even the internals so you will be limited when it comes to boost. It will give you a reasonable gain though.

heavyD
11-29-2004, 01:33 PM
Originally posted by 88CRX

not at all buddy:thumbsdow

He's actually correct. Putting a turbo on a Honda engine with stock internals greatly reduces the lifespan of the engine.:rolleyes:

dsmer
11-29-2004, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by heavyD

He's actually correct. Putting a turbo on a Honda engine with stock internals greatly reduces the lifespan of the engine.:rolleyes:

i dont know whos side you are on but its true, if it was built for a turbo they would have built the damn car with a turbocharger straight from the factory.

heavyD
11-29-2004, 03:18 PM
Originally posted by dsmer