PDA

View Full Version : Student Loans

Ajay
11-29-2004, 02:45 PM
A friend of mine told me that if you graduate with a high enough GPA you can actually get some of your student loans wiped out?

Is their any truth to that or is he just blowing sunshine up my ass?

project240
11-29-2004, 03:25 PM
:bullshit:

You can get Bursaries from the government, lowering the amount you have to repay, but it's not guaranteed, nor dependant on grades.

Weapon_R
11-29-2004, 03:27 PM
Actually you can get remissions if you apply and qualify for them. I think that you MUST pay about 18k in your loans, but you may qualify for remissions over and above 18k.

saiyajin
11-29-2004, 03:28 PM
dont know if its the same but i got interest relief where they just gave me more time to pay it off before they pile on the interest on my loans:dunno:

HillBilly
11-29-2004, 03:36 PM
When I graduated from college, (2000) I recieved a letter from Canada Student Loans that said because I had a GPA of 3.7, they were forgiving $3000.00 of my student loans.

Studying paid off!!

roopi
11-29-2004, 03:37 PM
Your GPA is not a factor regarding remission. Just graduate and you will receive remission. They have also changed it so you don't have to apply for it.

Mckenzie
11-29-2004, 10:38 PM
Scholarships are where its at for me. I just got a $5000 scholarship that is renewable in my fourth year as long as I keep up a 3.2 GPA. Studying hard does indeed pay off! :thumbsup:

3G
11-29-2004, 10:52 PM
Does anyone know where to apply for grants etc. I got accepted into SAIT and need to apply for one!

2.2vtec
11-29-2004, 10:58 PM
Originally posted by roopi
Your GPA is not a factor regarding remission. Just graduate and you will receive remission. They have also changed it so you don't have to apply for it.

How do you know if you are eligable?My loans will probaby be in the amount of 20-21 thousand.... I really don't want to pay all of that off:D

Mckenzie
11-29-2004, 10:58 PM
Originally posted by 3G