PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Guitar

szw
12-08-2002, 03:29 PM
Anyone have a good acoustic guitar (I think thats what they are called!) for a beginner? I don't know much about this, but looking for one, for a girl, if that makes any difference in the guitar??

Dirty Sanchez
12-08-2002, 05:37 PM
If you are a complete beginner then I don't suggest you go out and buy a guitar worth hundreds or thousands, but I guess you don't need telling. On the other hand, some cheap guitars are really awful - so here is how to try and tell the difference between a bargain and a bad banjo. haha

The price of a guitar is largely determined by the woods used in its construction - cheap guitar bodies are made from plywood or laminates. As the price increases woods such as rosewoods, cedar and spruce will be encountered. These latter woods will also age well, with the sound of the guitar improving with time, unlilke the cheaper variety which are at their best when new. As a beginner, there is little harm in buying a plywood guitar - as long as it fits some other criterion...

In general, the guitar should be solid with no loose bits inside - giving the guitar a small shake will determine this.
The guitar's neck should be straight. This can be checked by sighting along its length. Good fret work can also be checked at this time by running your fingers along the edge of each side of the neck. Each fret position will need checking to make sure that there is no buzzing of strings on poor frets. Do this simply by playing a note at every single fret position on the board, ensuring
you place a your finger close behind each fret when you do so. The action of a guitar (the height of the strings above the
fret board) is down to personal choice, but it is recommended that you pick a guitar with low action (strings near the
fingerboard) as this will make fretting easier.

Do not buy a steel string guitar and replace the strings with nylon ones. There are two main reasons for this. Classical