PDA

View Full Version : launching technique

GTS Jeff
12-09-2002, 07:33 PM
how do u like to launch?

i am pretty new to driving manual and my idea of launching is pretty basic and probably pretty hard on the car too. i basically rev up to 5 grand, drop the clutch as fast as i can, and hold the revs at 5 grand til i get traction, then go wot.

im sure thats totally wrong :D

Weapon_R
12-09-2002, 07:38 PM
I usually feather it in, I rarely raise the rpms higher than 3000, because what you lose in acceleration you usually get in the added traction.

SilverStreak
12-09-2002, 07:42 PM
Rev to 7000, side step the clutch, and you're off :D

GTS Jeff
12-09-2002, 07:43 PM
Originally posted by Weapon_R
I usually feather it in, I rarely raise the rpms higher than 3000, because what you lose in acceleration you usually get in the added traction. itd be different on a fwd than a rwd tho right?

Fuji
12-09-2002, 09:26 PM
You should feather... RPM wise depends on your car. I do it at about 4600. Keep in mind I am not great at dragging, let alone driving

OPGForce
12-09-2002, 09:33 PM
You have to experiment what RPM is best for your car to launch at. For my Civic, 3000 RPM is perfect. 5000 RPM will create massive wheel spin. For now, I like "slipping the clutch". Less wheel spin, and smoother launch.

gpomp
12-09-2002, 10:37 PM
Launching is bad :thumbsdow

GTS Jeff
12-09-2002, 10:43 PM
i was talking to ancient at the 403 meet and he said that i shouldnt let out the clutch completely until its engaged for sure....

if i just drop it as quick as possible, is that worse for the clutch than feathering it?

SilverStreak
12-09-2002, 10:59 PM
If you feather for a high rpm drop/launch you will fry your clutch, not a good smell :eek:

Weapon_R
12-09-2002, 11:29 PM
Originally posted by Jeff TYPE R
i was talking to ancient at the 403 meet and he said that i shouldnt let out the clutch completely until its engaged for sure....