PDA

View Full Version : Difference between car starters ???

Speed_69
12-22-2004, 02:07 AM
What is the difference between a AM and FM ?
and what does it mean by 1-way or 2-way car starter?
sorrie i'm a newb at this stuff..thanks!

5hift
12-22-2004, 03:37 AM
Originally posted by Speed_69
What is the difference between a AM and FM ?
and what does it mean by 1-way or 2-way car starter?
sorrie i'm a newb at this stuff..thanks!

AM is amplitude Modulation, and FM is Frequency Modulation. With both AM and FM, a carrier wave must be broadcasted. And it is just that... A carrier wave for the information. The difference is how the "information" rides on that carrier frequency.

AM carrier waves have relatively low frequencies and because of this, they can travel quite a distance and go through buildings and landforms.
FM carrier waves have relatively high frequencies, thus sending a clearer, stronger signal. However, since the carrier frequency is so high, it bounces off obstacles instead of going through them, thus reducing range.

In short if you plan on parking in something like a parkade and wish to start your car from the mall or something, you will have better luck with an AM remote. If you plan to park out in some huge parking lot and will stand at the door of a building to start your car you will have better luck with a FM remote. Since going outside to start your car defeats the purpose, generally the more popular remote is that of a AM frequency.