PDA

View Full Version : turboing an integra

civic4life
12-22-2004, 05:57 PM
how much boost would i be able to run safely on a bone stock B18B, or would i be better off making a ls/vtec?

frozenrice
12-22-2004, 06:38 PM
I've heard that around 7psi is safe without mods.
Here's a few links:
from G2IC (http://www.beesandgoats.com/boostfaq/g2icturbo.html#Top)
from xenocron (http://www.xenocron.com/)

I'm thinking about doing it too so if you know of (or find) any good links let me know. I'm a total noob to turboing so any information would be helpful.

Aleks
12-22-2004, 06:40 PM
If tuned properly this engine can support 250 - 300 whp safely. For the ammount of money I'd say boost your b18b unless your hp goal is much higher. Check out www.honda-tech.com (forced induction section). Lots of good info there.

civic4life
12-22-2004, 09:01 PM
by properly tuned do you mean just take it to a shop and get a tune-up or do you mean buy performence parts or something like that?

Aleks
12-22-2004, 09:10 PM
By tune I mean engine management. ie fuel management, timing, etc. The Air to Fuel ratio is adjusted to compensate for more air. Usually a car would go on a dyno where you would make runs and your tuner would adjust all the parameters. IT is essential to do this rite for your car to run properly. If you're on honda-tech, search for hondata, uberdata, fuel management etc.

Police
12-23-2004, 09:13 PM
its not really PSI that blows your engine there are many factors such as engine condition, fuel management, CFM etc...10psi from a small snail is safer then 10PSI from a huge diesel turbo...:eek:

Police
12-23-2004, 09:14 PM
ohh ya like i said its not really the PSI its how much HP your block can hold up to.

BumpinTalon
12-23-2004, 09:32 PM
PM legendboy here if you want a really, really nice turbo manifold.
edit: never mind, you live in Oklahoma. shipping would be expensive.

vortechfast
12-23-2004, 10:24 PM