PDA

View Full Version : Turbo an Auto ford ZX2?

d4nt3
01-09-2005, 08:23 PM
I'm new here...well sorta... I am new to the whole tuning scene though... So I hope this is in the right place. Anyways, I am thinking about getting a turbo for my ZX2... but I have a couple questions about it first. 1) Can I turbo and automatic car and nothing bad happpen? I've seen some turbo'd automatic Supra's(stock) but I didn't know if it would ruin something somehow. 2) Is it worth getting a turbo? Or should I get other things instead? And what? Right now my car is stock because I share it with my sister when she comes home from college T_T...but she won't be using it this summer/next year because I get it...yay! So I was thinking about getting a bodykit, cold air intake, catback exhaust, and a new ECU(some how...dunno where to get one). I hope someone can help me...

EDIT: fixed title.

EFHatch
01-09-2005, 09:49 PM
my advice, get your own car so your sister doesn't have to deal with the down time of installing a turbo.

illeagle
01-09-2005, 10:04 PM
might wanna check www.teamfmr.com they might know how strong your tranny is.. and how to go about 'chipping' your ECU. As for it being stock, Just start small...guarenteed you'll want a different car soon.. if you wanna go all the way, everytime you upgrade, keep the turbo in mind.. like when getting exhaust, upgrade to 2.5, straight through muffler, and resonators. Don't buy a CAI since you'll be swappng it out for charge pipes anyways...If you ghett-rig a turbo setup, there is a chance of blowing up your motor, so yah, it's ALOT of work to have a reliable turbocharged car. just ask the guys on teamfmr.com, they'll guide you... if not...buy a 5 speed Honda.:thumbsup:

Iceman_19
01-10-2005, 04:53 AM