PDA

View Full Version : Calgary's Official 5th Gen Lude Thread



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

1-Bar
11-17-2005, 02:55 AM
^^sorry man, dunno what it could be....any problems w/ the clutch, engaging...etc??





ahh, memories.....

whoo 1000 post!!

http://www.absoluteprelude.com/videos/5thgenSHhula.mpeg

D-Man
11-17-2005, 07:55 AM
Throw Out Bearing?

buh_buh
11-17-2005, 10:44 AM
heh, i have that commercial on my computer.
I think I have a 3rd gen and a 4th gen commercial too.

Gadgetboy
11-17-2005, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by D-Man
Throw Out Bearing? hey automatic boy, why don't you stay with what you know instead of taking wild stabs in the dark since you don't even know how a MT works let alone how to drive one.

richardchan2002
11-17-2005, 10:57 AM
:drama: Them's fighting words.

arian_ma
11-17-2005, 08:41 PM
lol well it has been a while since it has made that noise
My gears act really weird when the car is super cold
IE hasn't been driven for a couple of days in this freakign weather.
But I assume that is totally normal
I ask my friend who also owns a prelude, (G4) if it was tougher to downshift or even upshift when the car was cold but he said his car was smooth all the time.
I guess I won't know what his idea of smooth actually is until I drive another manual car myself for a good 30 mins
But that sound has gone away for a while and wasn't too alarming to begin with, I'm going to need to get a new clutch in about a year or two anyways, 10 yr old clutch :drama:
But to be honest, it runs amazingly well and catches perfect...
so I don't even know if I need a new clutch

JAYMEZ
11-18-2005, 12:47 AM
^
Not sure about the noise...However, when its cold out and my car has been sitting outside, its pretty rough changing gears till the engine is warm and i've been shifting for a while.

Best is when its cold out, (i mean really cold) and while driving on the hwys, the clutch gets nice and "gooey" almost :rofl: probably not normal, but i experience it.

As well, I've seen to have lost my 5th gear syncros :rofl:, only way to shift without grinding, is if i throw it in 5th hella fast, or "double clutching" :rofl: anyone know if some of that syncro shift will fix that, or anything else? thanks guys

ryder_23

arian_ma
11-18-2005, 02:06 AM
look at this guy with his toyotas and subarus
Pfffft
I got my n/a 4 banger, that's the way to go lol


haha jk jk you and your sexy cars :bigpimp:

ryder_23
11-18-2005, 02:14 AM
that was from me :rofl:

Team_Mclaren
11-18-2005, 02:22 AM
^^ i told u people dont read!! :rofl: :rofl:

ryder_23
11-18-2005, 02:24 AM
Originally posted by Team_Mclaren
^^ i told u people dont read!! :rofl: :rofl:

Hey, atleast if they do read it, they can understand what is ssaaid :poosie:

Team_Mclaren
11-18-2005, 02:25 AM
Originally posted by ryder_23


Hey, atleast if they do read it, they can understand what is ssaaid :poosie:

BANNNN!:hijack:

arian_ma
11-19-2005, 01:59 PM
:eek: oops

buh_buh
11-19-2005, 03:19 PM
You might get rid of some of the grinding if you switch to GM Synchromesh.

ryder_23
11-19-2005, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by buh_buh
You might get rid of some of the grinding if you switch to GM Synchromesh.

It only grinds at 100k + i found out today...

I read somewhere, not sure if it was here, or hondatech, but they said that 97 ludes have problems with 5th gear syncros :dunno:

funny thing was, i read this and said, thank god i dont have that problem, and a few days later i get it :rofl: stupid karma

D-Man
11-21-2005, 08:46 PM
Originally posted by Gadgetboy
hey automatic boy, why don't you stay with what you know instead of taking wild stabs in the dark since you don't even know how a MT works let alone how to drive one.

You got me there... :guns:

1-Bar
11-21-2005, 08:51 PM
Originally posted by ryder_23


It only grinds at 100k + i found out today...

I read somewhere, not sure if it was here, or hondatech, but they said that 97 ludes have problems with 5th gear syncros :dunno:

funny thing was, i read this and said, thank god i dont have that problem, and a few days later i get it :rofl: stupid karma

lol, 5th gear syncros are notorious on 5th gens....mmmm carbon syncros.....

arian_ma
11-22-2005, 09:02 PM
Yup, I've gotten that grindage over 100
it doesn't sound good, or feel good for that matter.

buh_buh
12-13-2005, 01:50 PM
soooooo how's the weather in Calgary.........

EK 2.0
12-13-2005, 02:07 PM
Originally posted by buh_buh
soooooo how's the weather in Calgary.........

haha...actually not too shabby today Kev. a lil snow last night...but all in all sunny today, albeit a lil cooler than we have had for the past few days...

1-Bar
12-14-2005, 12:50 PM
^^^cool, how's the weather in E-town Kev??

buh_buh
12-14-2005, 01:20 PM
haha not bad. Got a bit of snow yesterday. Not wearing winter coat yet.

richardchan2002
12-14-2005, 06:57 PM
What does this have to do with Preludes? Let's keep the discussion on topic please. haha.

I spotted a turbo Prelude today at Pacific Auto. Looks awesome. :)

vtec
12-14-2005, 09:15 PM
^^ what colour was it? and which generation?

richardchan2002
12-14-2005, 11:11 PM
It was a purple 5th gen. ;)

vtec
12-14-2005, 11:58 PM
ohhhhh ok, the one and only

buh_buh
12-15-2005, 01:32 AM
Hey I'm just trying to liven up the thread a little.

wow who's is it?
I heard the car's slow anyways. In fact I don't think it even runs. http://smiley.onegreatguy.net/fingers.gif

richardchan2002
12-15-2005, 01:39 AM
Haha, I was just joking. If this thread gets big enough, maybe we'll get our own forum. Like those damn 240 guys.

Not sure who's Prelude it is. Looks like someone who wants to copy your car though. :)

buh_buh
12-15-2005, 01:48 AM
goddamn bastard.
Well his is probably faster than mine. :banghead:

1-Bar
12-15-2005, 09:45 AM
well since your weather comment, this thread has picked up a lot....haha, I wanna swing by pacific and see this lude in person.....

buh_buh
12-15-2005, 01:35 PM
whats there to see? Just another Prelude with probably the same kit as everyone else and same mods as everyone else.:zzz:
Someone needs to do something original around here.

richardchan2002
12-15-2005, 01:45 PM
:werd: But there's only so much available for Preludes. I would like to see a d-series swap, and 4 lug conversion. That would be pretty original. :)

1-Bar
12-16-2005, 01:19 PM
hey Richard, 4th gens come with 4 lug......personally, I'd like to see RWD prelude somehow, maybe an F20C.....

richardchan2002
12-16-2005, 01:24 PM
I thought someone already made a RWD Prelude. Or was it a teg I'm thinking of?

buh_buh
12-16-2005, 01:40 PM
Primer Drift has a RWD Del Sol I think?
I'd love to have a RWD lude, but it would have to handle like it was that way stock, which I don't know if it would be possible. I wonder how much a project like that would cost?

richardchan2002
12-16-2005, 01:45 PM
^ I think you should try it and let us know. :D

Then you could clinch the title for most expensive Prelude.

buh_buh
12-16-2005, 01:49 PM
haha no thanks, and no thanks.
Although the latter may already be mine for the time being.

1-Bar
12-16-2005, 07:04 PM
^^^I think you should have done a RWD F20C lude instead of what you did, or maybe I should have done that instead of an auto --> 5 speed swap :eek:

richardchan2002
12-16-2005, 10:16 PM
Originally posted by buh_buh
Although the latter may already be mine for the time being.

Heh, I believe that. :) It'd be pretty tough to find anything additional to buy for your car...



Originally posted by 1-Bar
^^^I think you should have done a RWD F20C lude instead of what you did, or maybe I should have done that instead of an auto --> 5 speed swap :eek:

It's still not too late!

buh_buh
12-17-2005, 04:20 AM
you do it first, then if it works out I'll do it too. :D

1-Bar
12-18-2005, 03:02 PM
^I just might do it.....I wonder if JDMsource has a motor for me..:D

buh_buh
12-18-2005, 03:21 PM
Just use a S2000 drivetrain.
So all you'll need is a wrecked S2k.:D

1-Bar
12-18-2005, 03:34 PM
^sweet......well time to find a wrecked s2k!!

arian_ma
01-01-2006, 11:30 PM
http://absoluteprelude.com/forums/index.php?act=Help

Here guys, this is a website that covers pretty much everything about a prelude
Thanks to IncredibleToad :thumbsup:
Might save some of you lots of grief and money

IncredibleToad
01-02-2006, 01:07 AM
Hey guys i know this isn't 4th gen territory haha but..

im looking for a set of amber turn signal lenses (the 4 pieces that go on the bumper(2 on each side)) These came off the 92-93 preludes, i just got my JDM headlights installed (FINALLY) and i decided the full out amber signal lenses would be great (any opinions? i have the full clear turn signal lenses right now)

anyone here have any suggestions as to where it would be best to look for these or have/know of anyone that would have these and willing to trade/sell perhaps?! THANKS!

arian_ma
01-02-2006, 02:19 PM
^^^ ALL AMBER
It will look hot like hot sauce

1-Bar
01-03-2006, 04:31 PM
any 5th gen issuses in the new year??? :dunno:

ryder_23
01-03-2006, 04:51 PM
Originally posted by 1-Bar
any 5th gen issuses in the new year??? :dunno:

Ya, when i do a cold start when my car is parked outside for long periods of time. Kinda makes a weird whinning noise right when it turns over...Sound goes away if i start it within an hr of driving it, or when its parked in a warm evironment (ie: -5 or warmer) Any ideas Chris :D

1-Bar
01-03-2006, 05:16 PM
yeah, don't park outside when its cold..........:D

ryder_23
01-03-2006, 05:19 PM
I try not to, but i work at 5am, which requires me to park outside at work, and cant really start it until noonish for lunch break. Think its anything serious, or does my honda just hate the cold. It hasnt been a problem as of late, but back when we had the cold spell i got my ass kicked, haha.

arian_ma
01-04-2006, 02:33 PM
I think I know what you're talking about.
Is it sort of like the sound that comes when you try to start your car when it's already on? Only for a split second and your car is NOT already on?

if so then I know what you're talking about. It's a horrible sound :cry:

arian_ma
01-11-2006, 08:43 PM
Hey guys I have a quick question
I finally decided to pick up my rims
but when I contacted the person, they said that the largest offset that rim comes with is +45mm.
I know you guys recommended 48-50mm offset for 18's on a lude, and here's the dilemma.
Now I am getting 18x7.5 rims, and was just wondering if this offset is sufficient or not.
And if not, is there anyway I can space them out some more manually? ie spacers?
I am getting an amazing deal on these rims so I just wanted to make sure they would fit. Thanks a lot.

1-Bar
01-12-2006, 01:12 AM
should be fine....I think buh_buh is running +45 offset...if it rubs, you can just add a spacer as needed.

buh_buh
01-12-2006, 01:36 AM
I'm running a +47 right now, but I've ran a +40 before with a little bit of rub.

Skyline_Addict
01-12-2006, 02:35 AM
this thread is alive again!

1-Bar
01-12-2006, 12:20 PM
^how is your lude doing??

arian_ma
01-12-2006, 02:13 PM
alright sweet thanks guys :D
Finally am going to get my rims
Is everyone's car in hybernation?
Am I the only one that winter drives lol
PS how mcuh would a stock front bumper cost?
I want to get a new one for summer since the one i have on right now is chipped to shite, I imagine I'd have to get it painted as well?
How much would that come out to? Is it worth it?

richardchan2002
01-12-2006, 02:56 PM
I think there's only one owner that doesn't winter drive his Prelude. :)

As far as front bumpers go, it depends if you wait for a deal - some people feel that their stock bumper is worth $200. I had 2 extra front bumpers and I sold them each for $50. Paint was in excellent shape on those bumpers too.

Depending on condition, paint will run you from $150 and up to repaint a front bumper. I think it's worth it - I HATE seeing rock chips.

1-Bar
01-12-2006, 03:03 PM
^thanks again Richard for the bumper. When I sell my car the fresh one is going on. Your more then welcome to my beat up bumper, but I warn you it is beat to shiet......

arian_ma
01-12-2006, 07:30 PM
lol thanks Chris but yours is white and I don't really feel like sanding it down :P
Also, I am going to need to pick up those tires real soon :D

1-Bar
01-12-2006, 10:40 PM
^aights cool....:)

ryder_23
01-12-2006, 10:43 PM
How beat chris? I got some "deep" knicks in mine, is yours just rock chips?

1-Bar
01-12-2006, 11:15 PM
rock chips and rubbing to the urethane where the front spoiler sat (under the front turn signals)...

Skyline_Addict
01-13-2006, 02:23 AM
Originally posted by 1-Bar
^how is your lude doing??

same as you last saw it, but with winters + steelies now :).
just takin' it real easy for now, and i might be getting back to work at it once it starts to warm up (officially, anyways).

haven't seen you guys for a while, let me know what's going on in your lives! lol.

IncredibleToad
01-14-2006, 02:57 AM
Once again im wading into 5th gen territory with my 4th gen problem hahaha


if ya'll really feel the need to flame me, plz do it after u offer ur help hahaha

I just got a set of JDM black housing headlights and i got my bulbs in and what not yadda yadda yadda

i went to adjust them and they just wont look right, i can get the up/down adjusted correctly but the lights are somewhat dim and illuminates with a weird light pattern


they shine like this:

Drivers Side Passenger Side
\ \
\ \
\_ _ _ _ _ \_ _ _ _ _ _ _

okay so i cant exactly show that correctly on here but it looks like each light shines out a checkmark....

Does anyone here know how to fix this?! im thinkin there might be something up with the reflector in the headlight assembly but i really dont know, i just know there are 2 adjusting dials PER lightbulb (so 4 in total per side of the car)

ryder_23
01-14-2006, 03:16 AM
True JDM ???? :rofl:

there aiming towards the ditch of a RHD vehicle, unless there projectors and u can switch the sheild inside the projectors, u might be fucked...

IncredibleToad
01-14-2006, 11:14 AM
naw they're not projectors, just the reflector type lights....

arian_ma
01-16-2006, 12:32 AM
Hey guys, do you guys know off the top of your heads how much it will cost to get my front bumper resprayed?

1-Bar
01-16-2006, 12:35 AM
^^depends where you get it painted. Anywhere from $200ish - $600ish. I think Pacificauto quoted me $300, I can't remember....

arian_ma
01-16-2006, 08:59 PM
Holy mother ...I'd be better off buying another bumper for that much money
Thanks :eek:

D-Man
01-17-2006, 09:20 PM
Hey guys! Sorry I haven't posted on here for awhile, been super busy lately with packing and stuff...

Just an update, I have got everything ready for my auto->5 spd swap. All parts have been compiled and the tranny has been serviced and lsd installed. Looking to get the car down to STRD probably early May (the roads should be clean by then).

On another note, if anyone knows of someone in need of an auto transmission with low km's, let them know one will become available by May... I have a perspective buyer but who knows between now and then...

richardchan2002
01-17-2006, 11:49 PM
^ Shouldn't be hard to get rid of that auto tranny - the tiptronic in higher mileage 97-98's will be going any moment.



Oh and Arian. Even if you bought a new bumper - it would still need paint. How bad can your front bumper be? Maybe it's time to get a front kit. :)

arian_ma
01-18-2006, 12:39 AM
I want a lip kit though
body kits are too much I think.
and it would mean one step closer to my car being dormant for 3/4 of the year. lol

rip
01-19-2006, 12:59 PM
Anyone interested in a helm shop manual?

Link (http://forums.beyond.ca/showthread.php?s=&postid=1371885#post1371885)

PM me if you are interested. I sold my lude so I no longer need it.

Skyline_Addict
01-19-2006, 11:24 PM
Originally posted by arian_ma
I want a lip kit though
body kits are too much I think.
and it would mean one step closer to my car being dormant for 3/4 of the year. lol

what's the difference? whether you're just adding lips, or swapping bumpers, you're still adding more body to the car.

certain lip kits can cost more than body kits.

arian_ma
01-19-2006, 11:51 PM
damn you terrence :whipped:

arian_ma
01-26-2006, 11:09 PM
Alright guys once again, I need help.
I wanna mount my rims on tires. Now I talked to my mechanic and he said that most places with the regular machines will damage my rims, and that I will need to take it to "special" places with "special" machines.
Is this true? And if it is can anyone tell me where to go to get some nice and quick service?
Thanks.

1-Bar
01-26-2006, 11:51 PM
I trust CMS/OK tire, they dismounted my mugens!! No scratches....MyTire does some good work too....

buh_buh
01-27-2006, 12:42 AM
Tirecraft on Macleod.
I wouldn't take any sort of wheel work anywhere else.

richardchan2002
01-27-2006, 01:06 AM
^Really? I've actually never been to Tirecraft before.

My brand new wheels got some scuffs at MyTires. But those weren't very nice wheels so I didn't really mind that much.

CMS was really good on my Volks. At the time they had the top of the line Hunter equipment - only rubber or plastic ever touching your wheels.

buh_buh
01-27-2006, 05:10 AM
I've seen tons of Ferraris, BMWs, MBs get their tires done at Tirecraft, and all of Speedtech's stuff goes through them too. I get all my tires and related work from them, and they've never scuffed any of my wheels. They can also do alignments on lowered cars if anyone's interested.

EK 2.0
01-27-2006, 09:11 AM
Originally posted by 1-Bar
I trust CMS/OK tire, they dismounted my mugens!! No scratches....MyTire does some good work too....

werrd...those guys ROCK!!;)

arian_ma
01-27-2006, 04:42 PM
What about Crowfoot Village Honda?
They said they'd do it for me for pretty cheap..
I was planning on going there but do you think they will destroy my rims?

buh_buh
02-01-2006, 02:24 PM
Anyone think this is possible without relocating the fuse box, and just putting it where the cruise goes? Can anyone do me a huge favor and maybe take a look or make a couple quick measurements for me? My car's in Calgary and I'm in Edmonton right now, so I can't really do anything.

http://www.virgeweb.com/buhbuh/batteryrelocation.jpg

richardchan2002
02-01-2006, 05:49 PM
I can do it. Is your car still at the body shop? Does Friday work?

How big is your battery? You might need to extend some wires, but it just might fit underneath the fuse box if you're lucky. Anyway, I can get some measurements for you if you want, LMK.

1-Bar
02-02-2006, 12:58 AM
^^nuts Kev, look at the T1R battery....but from what I heard from STRD 2/3 have been sent back due to malfunction. There's definately enough room for a small as battery with the cruise control out.....

....time for some JDM fogs to accent that bumper of yours :thumbsup:

buh_buh
02-02-2006, 01:17 AM
well I'm picking up the car this weekend, so I can probably just do it, thanks Richard. The body shop called me this afternoon after I made that post.

I got some dimensions of the batteries and the
T1R is 7.1" x 3.0" x 6.6" 12V 18Ah
Braille is 6.8" x 3.8" x 6.1" 12V 21Ah over 1060 pulse cranking amps
Braille (race) is 5.8" x 3.3" x 5.9" 12V 15Ah over 900 pulse cranking amps

Do any of you guys know how battery ratings work? The shortest one in length is 5.8", so that's probably the one I want, but I'm not sure if it'll be okay for daily driving.

1-Bar
02-02-2006, 01:46 AM
^what do you need to know about the battery itself??

richardchan2002
02-02-2006, 09:44 AM
I don't know a lot about batteries, but I do know that Preludes need about 550 cold cranking amps. Since you won't be driving your Prelude in the winter, it won't be much of an issue.

I don't think you'll be able to run an amp or subs with a tiny battery. Would you consider relocating the battery to the trunk?

1-Bar
02-02-2006, 12:43 PM
^don't you need to properly seal the battery to run legally at race city?....I dunno if Kev wants to go though that hassel...

buh_buh
02-02-2006, 02:12 PM
not moving the battery to the trunk. Like Chris said, its too much of a hassle to move it to the trunk. Between extending wires, and building a properly ventilating sealed box, and an external kill switch gives me headaches.

I'm not looking to run any subs off this battery, just a big amp to run my speakers. You don't think those batteries would suffice for daily driving and my stereo setup?

richardchan2002
02-02-2006, 02:33 PM
Yeah these batteries should be good for daily driving. I've read a bit about them on the net, apparently they only last for a couple years, depending on how much load you put on them and driving habits, etc.

Anyway, good luck with this mod! Hope it goes smoothly.

1-Bar
02-03-2006, 12:08 AM
how many watts is your amp??

buh_buh
02-03-2006, 03:17 AM
500 watts

kane584
02-04-2006, 08:32 PM
waht does tiptronic do ?

tipronic isnt the same as sequential sports shift is it ?

1-Bar
02-04-2006, 08:38 PM
^yes it is....tiptronic = sequential shift

kane584
02-04-2006, 08:48 PM
o ok tiptronic sounds way better than sportsshift,

hey what is the stock HP on a 98 prelude naybody know,
im looking for one but i want to know really
on consumer guide it says that stock hp is 195 which i think is not beleiveable, i dunno, cause they also said a type r integra was 195 aswell...:confused:

buh_buh
02-05-2006, 03:46 AM
its 195. ITR's are 190.

kane584
02-05-2006, 04:39 PM
o so they are pretty fast

richardchan2002
02-05-2006, 05:23 PM
Kevin, that's a crazy amount of power for 6x9's. But I think you'll be alright. Alternator will give you power while you're driving anyway.



And as far as Prelude's being fast. I heard that on the street, an automatic lude isn't even quite as fast as a Civic DX. Not sure how valid that claim is but it should be pretty true I heard it from someone who tried it. lol. ;)