PDA

View Full Version : Calorie intake.

Bigchuckers
04-07-2005, 10:08 AM
I'm a fitness newb, so bare with my stupid Q's.

OK I was doing some reading on nutrition to get an idea of how I will have to eat now that I'm going back to the gym. I was reading and noticed alot of people recomend a diet that consists of 20% protein, 20% good fats and 60% carbs (in calories). I also came across you should eat about a gram of protein per pound of body weight if your lifting. Now Im a bit of a toothpick right now so I figured Id do my calculations based on my goal weight of 160lbs. Im about 150 right now. So I do the math and figure OK I need 160 grams of protien a day...thats 640 calories. I then crunched the numbers for fat and carbs and came across fat intake (680 cal) of about 70 grams (seems excessive) and a whopping 480 grams of carbs (2040 cal). At this point Im pulling on the reins and stopping the horse. I have to eat 3200 calories a day?!?! For a guy my size that seems very excessive. How accurate is this 20-20-60 idea? My food and suppliment bills would go through the roof if I went this route. If I had 2 servings of protein shake and 2 servings of creatine a day Im still only getting 15% of my carb intake and half my protien.

Is this really accurate?

Thanks for the help!

sputnik
04-07-2005, 10:15 AM
I would say that 3200 calories per day is reasonable for someone getting serious into lifting.

If you do some other calculations I would venture to say that you burn probably around 2000-2400 per day just doing everyday activities. So an addition 800-1200 is nothing.

Bigchuckers
04-07-2005, 10:38 AM
2400/day eh...haha I dont think I come close to that in intake so I guess that would explain a few things :nut: