PDA

View Full Version : cant upload pics?



T-Dubbs
04-18-2005, 10:31 AM
whats the deal with not being being able to upload pics to my FS thread????
they are downsized alot


Todd

shakalaka
04-18-2005, 10:33 AM
I think you can't post pics from your computer straight up anymore or something. You will have to upload it to some site like photobucket and then post them.

QuasarCav
04-18-2005, 10:34 AM
Size, I think 100K is the limit.

Search for a thread by "kenny" he details what is going on.

heavyD
04-18-2005, 10:44 AM
I tried uploading a pic well under 100K yesterday and it still wouldn't work.

89coupe
04-18-2005, 10:48 AM
I just tried with a 50KB pic as well. No workie!

rage2
04-18-2005, 10:59 AM
should be fixed. Increased the timeout... slow internet... forgot ;). Tested the timeout on a 20mbit link, which was kinda fast heh.

T-Dubbs
04-18-2005, 11:08 AM
rage, the same thing happens, i click "submit" and nothing happens

rage2
04-18-2005, 11:50 AM
It takes a while to upload. Tested at home, 100K file right at the limit took 80 seconds. Timeout is set way higher than that, so just be patient and it'll come up.

Moonracer
04-18-2005, 06:43 PM
still can't post pics

heavyD
04-18-2005, 06:50 PM
Originally posted by Moonracer
still can't post pics

Same here.

D'z Nutz
04-18-2005, 07:54 PM
Scroll down to the bottom of the page in any of the marketplace sections. What does the Forum Rules say? If it says you can't post, I'm guessing kenny disabled it.

rage2
04-18-2005, 10:41 PM
Not sure if kenny restricted anything in the marketplace only, but I'm assuming he didn't. Just did a huge test... so I saturated my shaw connection by uploading a huge video to my server at work. While it was uploading, I hopped on my wireless laptop and connected to this thread :

http://forums.beyond.ca/showthread.php?s=&threadid=84230

where I uploaded the last 5 pics which are on a network share on a different computer. Pretty much your worst case scenario... pics went from server to wireless to laptop to wireless to slow internet to beyond. Took some time for each pic, but it all uploaded fine, with no timeout.

No clue why you guys are still having problems.... do you get a white blank page when it fails? If so, how long from when you click submit till you get the white page?

T-Dubbs
04-18-2005, 11:04 PM
it works now, it just takes forever

Moonracer
04-18-2005, 11:55 PM
test

Moonracer
04-19-2005, 12:00 AM
well that was weird, it didn't even finish and go on to the thread after plus it took a few minutes :dunno:

buh_buh
04-19-2005, 05:31 PM
I cant upload a new avatar.
says its too big even though its not.

FiveFreshFish
04-19-2005, 10:56 PM
In my User CP, the "Show image attachments and [img] code in Posts?" is selected to YES but I still have to click on the hyperlink to see the attachment.

I changed it to NO and tried it, then changed it back to YES and got the same thing. What gives? :dunno:

rage2
04-19-2005, 11:10 PM
attachments dont show up automatically anymore. Option change, may change it back though because it's a bit annoying ;).

Ben
04-20-2005, 12:42 AM
looks like a means to save bandwidth, every time a tread is accessed, it draws that image from the server, now you only click it if you want to see it, saves unneccessary downloads...

that said, as rage2 mentioned...it is annoying as hell, haha.

soupey
04-20-2005, 09:20 PM
yea it was alot easier to just go into a thread b4 and just see the pictures...especially in the photoshop and marketplace sections....

i also noticed that it takes forever to upload pics, and also if u upload a pic that uve uploaded b4 it tells you that uve done it b4 and ur only allowed to upload 1 pic once....does it search the entire database of attachments every single time something is attached?...is that why it takes forever?...