PDA

View Full Version : Wanting info on NSX

Matt @ Skye Service
04-20-2005, 12:21 PM
As everyone must know by now, im quite new to the importing scene. Im trying to gather info on various cars so that I may pass on knowlegable advice. I need some info on the NSX, I have mainly only heard bad things about this car and I would like some advice from the beyond crowd. I have heard things such as that V-TEC use oil, that they are really slow, that they handle bad, and at 100,000kms the engine needs a rebuild. Are these things true? Please help me with some insight on these cars, and also if you people can, give me any facts that you may have on the car.

A790
04-20-2005, 12:26 PM
The NSX is an amazing handling car, even morso considering its age. The 276HP V6 engine propells the car along quite nicely.

VTEC doesn't use oil by design. If the car hasn't been maintained properly and it burns oil, that's because of the neglect on the owners part.

An Engine rebuild at 100k? Maybe if it was beaten to shit, but I don't see any reason otherwise. Last I heard the engine was reliable... hence the amazing resale on these things.

Matt @ Skye Service
04-20-2005, 12:28 PM
Sweet, that is definatly re assuring? did they come is turbo or super charged?

A790
04-20-2005, 12:29 PM
They are normally aspirated. Honda got a LOT of power out of those things.

Matt @ Skye Service
04-20-2005, 12:29 PM
How hard to turbo?

A790
04-20-2005, 12:30 PM
That I couldn't tell you.

You could probably get a custom setup done for you. Ask legendboy...

And I'm sure there are kits for it out there too. Just look, google etc. till you find something you like.

Matt @ Skye Service
04-20-2005, 12:31 PM
Sweet, I really apreciate the advice thank you.

QuasarCav
04-20-2005, 12:43 PM
Originally posted by A790
The NSX is an amazing handling car, even morso considering its age. The 276HP V6 engine propells the car along quite nicely.