PDA

View Full Version : Aquarium Cleaning Fish

cidley69
05-18-2005, 12:05 AM
I am new to the aquarium thing and wondering if anyone can list som e fish that are good at keepin it clean?

Like catfish style fish. My aquarium is a small freshwater tank.

AllGoNoShow
05-18-2005, 01:20 AM
33gallon or so?

Pleco's are good bottom feeders/algea eaters, but they can grow up to 20"

Otto's are also just as good, but are smaller.

The catfish I got arent any good at algea but seem to eat everything else.

accord823
05-18-2005, 01:27 AM
Try Rubber Pleco if you don't have a big tank and Otto's are good choice too
cheers :thumbsup:

dragonone
05-18-2005, 05:04 PM
i read that fish of this type actually create more toxic chemicals, creating a heavier load than normal

Thaco
05-18-2005, 05:13 PM
snails

D'z Nutz
05-18-2005, 10:15 PM
Pleco's do a pretty good job of cleaning up tanks, but if they don't get vegetable matter in their diet, their shit gets long and spaghetti like :barf:

I'd advise against snails. They breed like crazy and if it gets out of hand your waste levels will jump.

civicrider
05-18-2005, 10:28 PM
loaches are awsome along with some ghost shrimp they are really cool to watch as well:thumbsup:
for the glass any sucker fish will do the trick

Rockski
05-18-2005, 11:27 PM
Originally posted by D'z Nutz
Pleco's do a pretty good job of cleaning up tanks, but if they don't get vegetable matter in their diet, their shit gets long and spaghetti like :barf:

I'd advise against snails. They breed like crazy and if it gets out of hand your waste levels will jump.

plecos get huge and will not fit in a "small" aquarium in the end. plus they produde more amonia and nitare (or nitrite, the one that comes first, in the cycle)

you can get zebra snails that arent asexual and wont breed like crazy, just get one large one...

freshwater clams are also good to add to your tank system...