PDA

View Full Version : In Dash Dvd ticket

Davide
06-16-2005, 03:13 PM
I did a search on this forum about this issue, but it wasn't really all too informing, so if anyone can clear some things up for me before I take it before the crown(June 29), I'd appretiate it!

Anyway, my buddies decided to get drunk one night at the whiskey, and I ended up DDing, so these two (drunk out of their tree) suggested I pull up to the doors to pick up the last guy. A fight breaks out, cops come, people clear, so here I am in a damn Escalade, with this Dvd playing(but I was in Park). cops box us in, comes over IDs me, asks me to shut the screen off, and I had no clue how(I was DDing for crap sakes I didn't think I'd need to read the manual for a 20min drop off), so I ended up getting a ticket for "driver distraction"($250), which is understandable. anyway being a 20yr driver I really don't need something stupid like this on my abstract/insurance

so what I need to know is:
1) is there deducted demerits for this? if so how many
2)does the fact that these have a safety feature which turns it off when not in park, mean nothing?
3)is there something I can say to help me with this? I already pleaded not guilty

thanks in advance

Mad$ella
06-16-2005, 03:20 PM
Hrmmm....
I want to know what people have to say, cuase I am afraid of the same thing with my DVD...
I dont know enough to give you a for aure answer, so we'll see what the others have to say.

2002civic
06-16-2005, 03:21 PM
ithink you could figt this one as you wernt i motion and if it lik emy old one it shouldnt be able to be viewed when the e brake is down, go take a video of that feature working and show them and you should get out of it

Hakkola
06-16-2005, 03:24 PM
yeah, you will be able to get out of it unless the judge is a dill hole. You weren't driving, the car was in park, it is not driver distraction if you're not driving. Get video of the feature and present this and you will get off.