PDA

View Full Version : Advice: Digital SLR Camera Buying.

Celica TVS3
08-01-2005, 04:24 PM
I know there are some pretty good photographers on this site who will be able to provide me with some good advice. I'm planning on buying a dslr camera within the next week or so. I've read the reviews and i think I have the cameras narrowed down to the Canon Rebel XT 350d & Nikon D70.

What do you guys think of these to cameras? Which would you choose?

Also, if I were to buy the Canon Rebel would you suggest buying the kit lens with it or just buying the camera body and picking up better quality general multi-purpose lens. If so which lens would you recommend - keep in mind I’m just getting into SLR cameras and don't want/need to spend $2k on my first lens.

What DSLRs are you using?

Thanks for the help.
Aaron.

mac_82
08-01-2005, 04:38 PM
I have used a D70 and a D100 before, they are great cameras. I haven't heard many good things about the lens kits that come with the camera bodies, so you might want to look into upgrading to a slighty better lense.

DJ Lazy
08-01-2005, 05:11 PM
Originally posted by mac_82
I haven't heard many good things about the lens kits that come with the camera bodies, so you might want to look into upgrading to a slighty better lense.

Especially with the "new" lense they include in the kit with the 350D. The camera is amazing, however I've read a few reviews (http://www.dpreview.com/) that the 350D suffers at the expense of the new lense.

SportTwin
08-01-2005, 08:15 PM
^^^

:werd:

The Rebel XT is a great body, but the stock lense isn't. I bought mine back in March and its awsome. I highly recommend the XT.

BTW if you do end up buying an xt, spend the extra $35 and get the infrared remote control if you want to be in any of your own pictures. Totally worth it in my opinion.

DJ Lazy
08-01-2005, 09:54 PM
Originally posted by SportTwin
^^^

:werd: