PDA

View Full Version : What would you do?

Fodera
08-17-2005, 04:35 PM
Well, heres the thing....i'm a part time musician and need a car able to lug a lot of my gear back and forth.

I'm really not a truck person...me and trucks just don't get along. I don't know, maybe I'm just a little goofy, but I like the car to be relatively roomy...guess I just feel like I got more for the money that way.

Aside from its urban use, I have a love for photography and would like it to be able to handel offroad travel. It really is a bitch having a small car and have to walk through the trails because my crappy honda will cry if it touches anything thats not paved.

So I I'm basically looking for an SUV that can handel offroading, but is sensible for urban life. I've got about 25k to spend ... and I really need your wisdom to guide me here.

But heres a thought...now don't threaten to murder my family...it's just a thought haha. Hummer has released their H3, as I'm sure youre all aware. Heres how I see the pros and cons:

pros:
-It gets about 20mpg highway
-The exterior seems to be relatively strong. I know the joke about the new line of hummers is theyre basically lunchboxes on wheels, but after I saw the H3 it semt very solid compared to the H2.
-Its very capable of getting me to my offroad destinations.
-An amazing award-winning interior.

cons:
-You constantly get hounded over them.
-It packing a v5...yes...a v5. Not much passing power.
-Very limited vision (or so it seems).
-A lot more tempting to be stolen than your average 30k retail value car.

So what are you opinions of the H3, and what SUVs would you recommend? If possible, i'd like to try and keep it above 12mpg city. Once again my budget it about 25 - 35k.

thanks you guys!

Thaco
08-17-2005, 04:37 PM
if you're not concerned with your ego, look at a minivan, 1-2 years old (2003-2004) they can be had for less than half the origional purchase price.

fingirl
08-17-2005, 04:41 PM