Quantcast
Gps - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Gps

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,077
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Gps

    How many of you guys have GPS navigation in your car?

    And what do you think of it?

    pics!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Airdrie
    My Ride
    CH9
    Posts
    307
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    i do and it is great kind of useless but very cool.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Medicine Hat
    My Ride
    2004 Toyota 4Runner V8 Sport
    Posts
    136
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Had it, I didn't use often enough to justify having it. I used quite a bit more, when I had my Nissan Truck for 4x4ing.
    2004 Toyota 4 Runner V8 Sport
    2001 Prelude SE- Sold
    Speed Kills...Drive a Ford...Live Forever!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    1 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,901
    Rep Power
    101

    Default

    My wife uses her's in town. I use it when I go out of town (haven't done that yet).

    Also when people sell stuff on beyond and they give me an address, it's damn easy to find their place .
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    NW
    My Ride
    ACR/EG/FJZ80/DC4/DC2/22RE
    Posts
    2,025
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Rage2, Which GPS do you have? I'm thinking getting one too...

    I've used a couple hand helds and I've found in the downtown core ther're horrible

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    08 VQ35HR
    Posts
    765
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by speedracer
    Rage2, Which GPS do you have? I'm thinking getting one too...

    I've used a couple hand helds and I've found in the downtown core ther're horrible
    Yes, all the tall buildings doesn't allow you to have direct line of sight plus diffraction off the steel walls...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    1 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,901
    Rep Power
    101

    Default

    I have the Alpine unit. It works good even downtown, uses gyros and speed sensors to determine where I am even without a GPS signal. It even worked for me when I went to underground parking, etc. Pretty cool stuff.
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    1,398
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    the handheld units are great for getting acurate speed ratings at high speed!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    107
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    How much did these cost you guys?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    1 x E Class Benz
    Posts
    22,901
    Rep Power
    101

    Default

    I have the handheld Garmin GPS as well. It works pretty good, my wife used it in Minnesota and never got lost. And yes, it's awesome for calibrating speedometers. I used it to Calibrate my Blitz power meter, at 250km/h, it's only off by about 0.6km/h .
    Originally posted by SEANBANERJEE
    I have gone above and beyond what I should rightfully have to do to protect my good name

Similar Threads

  1. In-Dash LCD GPS System

    By iiinycboi in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 30
    Latest Threads: 03-09-2003, 01:29 AM
  2. anybpdy want a handheld gps unit

    By 300rwhp in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 06-20-2002, 08:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •