Quantcast
Scratch repairs - how? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Scratch repairs - how?

My Ride
    Proton Wira 1.5 GLi

Default Scratch repairs - how?

Hi. Recently, I've scratched my car. I don't really know how I scratched it, but I think I scratched it with another car.

The part of my car (which is almost black in color) which is scratched now shows the white paint underneath it. The scratch is quite faint, but it somehow destroys the good look of the car. I'm thinking of 'fixing' it, but I need advice from you all.

I'm a beginner, and someone told me that I only need to polish the car using some 'abrasive' cleaners, they say that cleaner will 'absorb' the paint from the surrounding areas and make the scratch disappear. But I don't think it will work, because the scratch is considered deep as the black paint is no longer there, revealing the white paint.

Another way, as found in one of the books, is to buy a paint of the same colour, paint it using 'paintbrushes', polish it (to make the colour appear like the surrounding paint), then wax it. I think this is the better way, but is it considered too tedious for me to do it, as a beginner?

Another solution is to go to an auto-shop and have them do it for me. But, will that be expensive? It is just a small part which is scratched. Considering that the place scratched is quite small, will it be more expensive if I do it myself, because I have to buy the paint and the polish?

Thanks for you advice!!!

My Ride
    Bowling shoes

My Ride
    1988 Accord, 1990 4Runner SR5

You can do it yourself, or you can take it down to Fortune car wash (on Mcloed accross from Hooters) and get the guy there to detail it out for you.