Quantcast
Diagnosis...where is the problem...frustrated - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Diagnosis...where is the problem...frustrated

My Ride
    AP1 / CRV

Default Diagnosis...where is the problem...frustrated

alright so my engine is royally screwed and i've been trying to determine where the problem lies...hopefully someone can give me a point in the direction of where my engine problems lie. i have another DOHC ZC 1.6 (non vtec) engine and i'm trying to figure out if i just need to swap the head (if thats where the problem is) or swap the whole engine if need be

symptoms:

-burns oil like a bitch

-also the way it burns, at startup a bit of a puff comes out and then it eases off...kind of like bad valve seals and it burns pretty bad at high revs. also if u let it idle for a long time, again big plume of smoke like bad valve seals....

-at idle with the oil cap off exhaust comes out of valve cover
    (now i'm no licensed mechanic but from my very limited understanding of engines i'm pretty sure you shouldnt have exhaust coming out of your valve cover when the cap is removed.)

-very hard to start (probably due to the WAY off valve settings. have to give it gas to slowly get it going and once warmed up its a bit better)

-something is warped so i cannot perform a valve adjustment
    (this head was hydrolocked and rebuilt (cant remember exactly how many valves were bent) and now most are completely backed off as much as possible and no clearance between the camshaft lobe and the rocker

-block was from a previously turbo-ed setup, we only honed it and re-ringed it (yes i know i shouldve bored it out but at the time that's all i was able to get done)