Quantcast
First DSLR - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: First DSLR

My Ride
    90 GTI 16v

Default First DSLR

I'm a total noob, I have been using a Canon A540 and A610 and would like to move up to a SLR. I have been looking at the:
    Canon XT, XTi, 10D
    Nikon D40, D40x, D80.
    Most of the pictures I take are of my work, so alot of interior house stuff. I would also like to be able to go to the CMRA races and snap some far shots also. Help me out here guys/girls. Do I really need 10MP? Is buying used a smart idea? What are the must have accessories to go with it.

Megapixels depend on what you do. The larger the number the more information you have towards making a bigger print or manipulaitng the picture. (IE: crop) Since all DSLR have RAW modes then it really doesn't matter for what I do

I started on film and held out until the XT was released from Canon. I am currently selling the camera and have to say the camera is great for everything that I shoot.

The most important thing I would have to say DSLR can do over point-and-shoot is take quick actions shots.

My canon does 2.8 frames per second and so does the XTi and the Nikon models. The XTi, D series all have a 2.5 inch screen on the back but they are just used for accessing the menu or reviewing the picture. Not that important of an upgrade.

The Xti is the only one with a vibrating filter that will knock off dust that is stuck on it. Problem is, dust is still inside so it will eventually stick again....

If you do want to do zoom shots you are gonna need a zoom lens with anti-shake. I think Canon has a 70-300mm with IS where as the Nikon is a 70-300 VR which are compariable at ~700 bucks

I'm happy with the XT but I have to move on.
    My FS thread is here
    http://forums.beyond.ca/st/175949/fs...rand-new-lens/

and here is a link with a chart to compare the cameras you were looking at
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/comp...n_d80&show=all