Quantcast
fuel upgrade question? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 49

Thread: fuel upgrade question?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    calgary AB
    My Ride
    toyota MR2
    Posts
    2,080
    Rep Power
    11

    Default fuel upgrade question?

    since i need to upgrade my n/a fuel pump im thinking walbro 255 does this mean i need to upgrade my rail?

    From what ive read im choking my engine right now leaving the original pump in my car

    What problems will i encounter leaving it in?
    has anyone done an intank install?
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    CAlgary
    My Ride
    89 Colt Turbo
    Posts
    363
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    pumps might be slowly dying.... hope u don't havbe those in tank fuel pump those arre a royla pain in teh ass

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    calgary AB
    My Ride
    toyota MR2
    Posts
    2,080
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    sure do. what do you mean "pumps maybe slowly dying"?
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    CAlgary
    My Ride
    89 Colt Turbo
    Posts
    363
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    on my civic there gasoline ask as a coolant cooling the pump if it get too low there a chance it over heats the pump and burns out....mine was working but the pump wasn't providing enuff fuel.....therefore slowly dying off
    wear n tear

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    679
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    You need a bigger pump for sure. i use a walbro 255 they are relatively cheap and mine has given in 0 problems... install is a pain in the ass...


    if you are using the stock 3sgte rail you should be fine depending on how much boost you plan to run etc....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    679
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    with a stock ct26 you wont need to upgrade they rail...

    here is a good article
    http://www.mrcontrols.com/primers/power.htm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    calgary AB
    My Ride
    toyota MR2
    Posts
    2,080
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Originally posted by bmeier
    ... install is a pain in the ass...
    not what i was looking to hear. where did you purchase yours and how much?
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    679
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    i cant remember i think Mopac stocks them.. look on mr2oc and you can get them pretty cheap.

    I am pretty sure you have to drop the tank to change the pump, i did in my mk1 anyways... it would have been wise to do while the engine was out because you have more room to work with then.

    Drive around till your almost out of gas that will make it alot easier to get the tank out and not have to deal with gas everywhere.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    679
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    also you are probably going to run rich with the walbro...

    i dont know what kind of mods your planning but a stock 3sgte pump might suit your needs better.

    the stock fuel pressure regulator somtimes has trouble controlling the large pump from what i hear. I have no experience with this but its just something to think about.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    calgary AB
    My Ride
    toyota MR2
    Posts
    2,080
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    what about the supra pump? had you thought about using that?
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    anything but domestic
    Posts
    269
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Bah, use the walbro....how the fuck are you gona run richer......the stock pressure regulator is gonna send all teh excess back regardless. You may run "marginally" richer....and i mean that to the most far out there extent.


    Upgrading the pump is more of a safety than anything..... unless you are going for way more power.



    can you run an sr20 on a stock pump? yes...you can....should you? no.....

    same thing with the 3sgte vs the 3sge,


    hope that helped

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    679
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    supra is the same as the walbro for performance but more money.


    if you plan to just use the ct26 and up the boost to about 15 psi, i would go with the stock 3sgte pump personally.


    If your planning to upgrade later down the road then grab the walbro.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    anything but domestic
    Posts
    269
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    dood. walbro is like 160$ TOPS

    u can find cheaper walbros on ebay......

    why would you wanna drop your tank twice......

    if youre gonna upgrade...do the walboro ONCE and save yourself

    time and money....


    thats my .02

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    679
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    i never said he would run overly rich to the point of something bad happening im just saying the setup is not "optimal"

    Wolfkatz engineering who specializes in mr2 fuel upgrades recommends upgrading the rail because with the new pump you will see a pressure drop across the rail. That being said upgrading the rail is bad if you are on the stock turbo...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    calgary AB
    My Ride
    toyota MR2
    Posts
    2,080
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    thanks guys
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    calgary AB
    My Ride
    toyota MR2
    Posts
    2,080
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    what about redrilling the stock rail? would all this be fine on a ct20?
    Last edited by thinmyster; 12-15-2006 at 07:02 PM.
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    679
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Originally posted by Cheeze
    dood. walbro is like 160$ TOPS

    u can find cheaper walbros on ebay......

    why would you wanna drop your tank twice......

    if youre gonna upgrade...do the walboro ONCE and save yourself

    time and money....


    thats my .02
    i dont think you understand what i am saying.

    If he plans to keep the stock turbo and not upgrade the stock pump will cause him less headaches.

    If he plans to upgrade at some ponit i recommend the walbro so he doesnt have to drop the tank more than once.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    679
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    i think ATS sells a modded rail for 75 bucks that should be fine with the ct20

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    anything but domestic
    Posts
    269
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Yah...but if you are gonna up the boost even on a stock turbo and rail, or even run stock boost on an n/a pump you are demanding more fuel from the pump, and therefore chancing a disaster.

    having a new pump and high flow pump are both insurance policies. If the stock pump kicks it because of the new demand of fuel enrichment for turbo applications, while your boosting, itll lean out and possibly kill your engine for you.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    calgary AB
    My Ride
    toyota MR2
    Posts
    2,080
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    thanks agian guys
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS/T: Everything! Gauges, Fuel + Boost controllers, Wideband, Fuel Pump, Turbos, ETC!

    By s3v3n in forum Automotive Parts [Engine Electronics]
    Replies: 20
    Latest Threads: 10-22-2006, 06:26 AM
  2. FS. SR20DET MAF/FUEL/ECU Upgrade Package

    By xcye in forum Automotive Parts [Engine Electronics]
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 06-16-2006, 01:41 PM
  3. Vw Jetta Has Bad Fuel Economy ..poor Fuel Line

    By bobbysnacks in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 5
    Latest Threads: 05-31-2006, 05:19 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 12-22-2003, 01:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •