Quantcast
Laptop Ram upgrade question - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Laptop Ram upgrade question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    broken POS
    Posts
    334
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Laptop Ram upgrade question

    ok so i'm a complete Laptop Noob
    and i'm curious how to or if i can upgrade the ram in a laptop

    i currently have a "Compaq Presario 2100 series" and i donno if some of the ram fried in it? but it's going pretty slow and it says it has 192... i'm sure it started with a bit more but anyhow if anyone knows how to upgrade the ram some help/assistance will be nice i really wanna keep this laptop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    boosted crvtec civic
    Posts
    779
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    there should be a little panel on the bottom that opens up and you stick it in the slot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    broken POS
    Posts
    334
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    ahhh so i can just buy normal ram? for some reason since i was young i always thought there was "special" laptop ram haha

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    boosted crvtec civic
    Posts
    779
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    its physically smaller, not really "special" im sure a place like memory express will know what you mean.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    broken POS
    Posts
    334
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    ah ok! sounds good i'll just stop by tomorrow and ask them what would fit in my laptop! thanks a bunch sir!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,653
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    .
    Last edited by 01RedDX; 10-30-2020 at 07:11 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    broken POS
    Posts
    334
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    wooo
    398.8 FSB

    so ddr266
    jsut checked says i should have 256 DDr... but when i do a
    run // dxdiag it says i only have 192. is this normal? or is something that is not related to my pysical ram going wrong? (as in getting it replaced via being Half fried? if thats possible hehe)

    This ram will do right 01RedDX?
    Ram i think will fit?
    Last edited by Dooms_Bane; 07-31-2007 at 12:40 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,653
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    .
    Last edited by 01RedDX; 10-30-2020 at 07:11 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    broken POS
    Posts
    334
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    ahhh no all i use this for is for my GF to play neopets.. but it's getting really slow for some odd reason for a 1.8GHZ. it really shouldn't be running that slow. takes like 20 seconds to load IE or like 15 to open my computer. i brought it down some but she doesn't want to lose her files with a reformatt so my best guess is just up the ram some cuz before i could at least play Starcraft on it... for a 1.8ghz... and now i can't hahaha

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,653
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    .
    Last edited by 01RedDX; 10-30-2020 at 07:11 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. FS: 2x128mb PC2100 Laptop DDR ram and 2x256 DDR 333mhz ram

    By soupey in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 12-25-2006, 10:16 AM
  2. Fs:hd & Ram Ram Ram Ram Ram Ram Ram Ram

    By Crazyx88 in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 21
    Latest Threads: 09-28-2005, 09:08 PM
  3. FS: Laptop PC100 Ram, Laptop 15gig HD

    By Bigwave in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 08-25-2005, 09:52 PM
  4. WTB: Laptop hardrive and Laptop RAM

    By GucciBoy in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 08-24-2005, 03:17 PM
  5. WTB: Toshiba Protege Laptop Accessories, laptop hd & ram

    By soupey in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 09-23-2004, 03:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •