Quantcast
Stripping wax/sealant - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Stripping wax/sealant

My Ride
    '97 BMW 328is M-Sport

Default Stripping wax/sealant

I've done a lot of polishes and waxes, but I almost always start with a neglected car that hasn't seen wax or sealant since it left the showroom. Even on my previous cars I've just done it once a year and left it at that. However, I now have a NICE car, and I have two shows this weekend and I need to strip what little wax is left, plus sealant, to do a full polish.

I was thinking of claying, hitting it with a paint cleaning compound with the polisher, then a medium cut, polish cut, sealant and wax. That the right order to get this done right?
    Originally posted by FraserB
    I think their main complaint is that they did not receive the stolen property they paid for.

My Ride
    a wrx.

I'm a noob to this sort of stuff, but my understanding is that a cut polish will take off all the stuff you are hitting with the clay and paint cleaner, so why bother with those steps? It'd be easier to do a wash with some dish detergent and slightly harder scrubbing to get rid of the wax before the polishing steps.

Then just make sure you pick a sealant and carnauba that are known to layer well together.

My Ride
    '97 BMW 328is M-Sport

By claying first, I remove surface contaminants that otherwise will foul my polishing pad. A few less things to be grinding into the paint. The cleaner will remove the wax for sure, but if there's another thing I should be using that'll work better I will. The reason I don't want to strip the wax with the medium cut, which will work, is that it won't really polish, but will just strip the coatings. So I don't get the benefit of all that polish.

The dish soap approach I have heard before, but I'm not sure if it's the best or if it'll work with sealant.