Quantcast
Nikon D40x or Canon digital rebel XTI? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Nikon D40x or Canon digital rebel XTI?

Default Nikon D40x or Canon digital rebel XTI?

Okay beyond camera gurus.

i want to get into my hobby. now ive been looking at eBay, and for my price range ive narrowed it down to these 2 cameras.

ive kinda read the reviews on both cameras and they do have exceptional reviews but i want other opinions.

keep in mind that i am a beginner, but here are the 2 items i have narrowed it down too.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-EOS-Digita...QQcmdZViewItem

or

http://cgi.ebay.com/Nikon-D40X-Digit...QQcmdZViewItem

My Ride
    '98 Oldsmobile Intrigue

Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe the Nikon only has AF if you use specific lenses (the AF is built into the lens) or is that only the D40? I myself would say Canon and I'm sure most people would agree with me. Would you be open to one more option however? I bought the Olympus E-330 and I am damn happy.

Olympus Evolt E-330 Digital & Lens + Kit E330 NEW USA
    Price: US $449.95
    UPS Ground

Subtotal: US $449.95
    Shipping and handling: US $52.00
    Shipping insurance (included): --
    Seller discounts or charges: --
    Total: US $501.95
    Plus $75 for the random border bs it came up to about $600CAD. Then I ordered an 8GB PNY Compact Flash card from here while it was on sale for $100 and got a $40 tri-pod off my brother for free.

I use it to mostly take pictures of cars and the live LCD makes taking weird angle shots really simple. The battery life is good as well and I like the feel of it. Plus, this is the first ever camera that I've owned and I understood the majority of features and operation within half an hour of using it (although I am a geek ), the only thing I don't understand still are metering, AEL and ISO although I never use those or tested them.

I'll upload some sample (unprocessed) pictures for you to look at.

My Ride
    '98 Oldsmobile Intrigue