Quantcast
Big Rotary Rant - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Big Rotary Rant

Default Big Rotary Rant

I'm just making this thread to show how ridiculars some mechanic shops are....i normally respect and would not name the shop because that would be low....but get this

So after I finaly purchasing my dream ride a 1992 FD rx7 from 4Kruzn imports about a month in a major leak occurs and im leaving small puddles of oil everywhere i park...damn i think this is what all the rhd threads were about how they are expensive to maintain etc... Seeing as im a student and i worked my ass off to buy this thing...i wanted to prevent a rebuild and took it to a mechanic shop asap

And i know not to take it to some jo blo mechanic anywhere as i've owned an FC throught the years and know better. I took it to calgary's highly controversial rotary shop...RX7 specialties...i talked with Adam and he said oh ya dont worry im gonna shampoo it and have a quick look and see where the leak is coming from.

I come back within a couple hours and i see a huge streak of oil....my car never had streaks coming out as i was driving...he was like ya it just happend and it looks like you need a full rebuild...your front main seal is gone...your rear main seal is gone...your oil metering lines are leaking....your compression is crap. He quoted me 5000$ or said better to just find another engine and rebuild that one. He charged me 200 dollars cash and he wouldnt take debit cuz he said his debit machine didnt work for just shampooing my car and telling me i need a rebuild

i wasnt very happy with that news....i decided to get a second opinion, because for all i know he made it up... cuz he knows where else am i going to go to service a rotary. All i had left was to take my chances with the Kramer mazda dealership....now those guys at least attempted to solve the problem and didnt just quote something outta their ass...but here we go again...