Quantcast
Anybody know anybody who can fix ps3? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Anybody know anybody who can fix ps3?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    SC 03 eclipse, 06 TJ,Shadow1100, HD FXSTC, Chopper
    Posts
    281
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Anybody know anybody who can fix ps3?

    I just got the new call of duty and my ps3 craps out on me. lol. go figure.

    What is wrong is that i can turn on the ps3 and it will stay on for a few min. then beep 3 times and turn itself off, a yellow flash acompanied by non stop blinking red. I do not have extended warantee and would like to find somebody that can fix this as it is one of the ps3's that is backwards compatible with ps2 games.

    Any suggestions?
    Member since 2003.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    A car... beep! beep!
    Posts
    2,436
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Call Sony and see if its under warranty still?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    2005 Honda Civic
    Posts
    1,020
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Check the manual for the beep codes on that bios firmware? Reload the firmware on the PS3?
    Originally posted by adamc
    you can pretty much skip over any posts that have no punctuation, as a general rule of thumb.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    SC 03 eclipse, 06 TJ,Shadow1100, HD FXSTC, Chopper
    Posts
    281
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Not under warantee anymore. It is a launch console.
    Member since 2003.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Calgary/Alberta
    My Ride
    A car... beep! beep!
    Posts
    2,436
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Did you call though? See what they say as far as how much to fix etc.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    WRX STI
    Posts
    1,896
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Could it be the game? If you just bought the game, exchange it for a new one and see if it still does it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    SC 03 eclipse, 06 TJ,Shadow1100, HD FXSTC, Chopper
    Posts
    281
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I dont think it could be the game, as the system wont even stay on for longer then 1 min without shutting itself off and constantly blinking red.

    I guess will call sony and see what they will do for me.
    Member since 2003.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    2005 Honda Civic
    Posts
    1,020
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Why do I bother to post anymore? Did you even try what I suggested?
    Originally posted by adamc
    you can pretty much skip over any posts that have no punctuation, as a general rule of thumb.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    SC 03 eclipse, 06 TJ,Shadow1100, HD FXSTC, Chopper
    Posts
    281
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Originally posted by em2ab
    Why do I bother to post anymore? Did you even try what I suggested?
    Sorry i missed your post.

    I will check that out when i get home. But how do you go about reloading firmware on the ps3 without being able to turn it on?
    Member since 2003.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    2005 Honda Civic
    Posts
    1,020
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    You mentioned it stays on for a minute and then beeps. I know NOTHING about Playstation 3s but I know a lot about computers which is basically what this thing is. So I'm guessing it has some sort of mainboard with a bios and the bios firmware from the manufacturer (likely not Sony) is probably not that different from what the manufacturer is pumping out on their other boards. If the case is such, then it's going to have a beep code system which alerts you to what the problem is depending on the series of beeps (no VGA, loose RAM, bad CPU...). Check the manual that came with the machine to see if there is such a system or check the internet. But whatever you do, don't try Sony's website, they have nothing useful on there and half the downloads don't work.

    Otherwise there should be a way to upgrade the firmware, either via the internet or a CD. Check online to see if you can order a CD to flash it, you just put the CD in and wait, that's it. But I know it can be updated, there's one for the Blu-Ray update for sure.
    Originally posted by adamc
    you can pretty much skip over any posts that have no punctuation, as a general rule of thumb.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    MB C63
    Posts
    2,521
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    If you have a laptop or harddrive enclosure just format the drive and pop it back into the ps3.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    R50
    Posts
    548
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Originally posted by djayz
    If you have a laptop or harddrive enclosure just format the drive and pop it back into the ps3.
    This is the best idea so far. As soon as you do this, the ps3 will recognize the formatted drive, and will reload the firmware back in from the system memory. I did this before, not as a fix, but from when I upgraded my HD in there.

    Other suggestions on here are great for most computers. But it doesn't quite relate to consoles AFAIK. The reason being all consoles (well, except Wii... ) are really locked down to prevent Piracy. Leaving a gap between BIOS and the OS will be a hacker's dream come true.

    Anyway, give that formatting trick a try. If not, the Sony support line is your best bet. I hope it goes well for ya, I would be in tears if my launch 60gig dies. *KNOCK ON WOOD*

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    SC 03 eclipse, 06 TJ,Shadow1100, HD FXSTC, Chopper
    Posts
    281
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Thanks for all the replys, I will try everything mentioned, and if all else fails i will rely on sony.

    Thanks again.
    Member since 2003.

Similar Threads

  1. Can anyone or does anyone know fix for Xbox RROD?

    By 240SX92 in forum Video Games
    Replies: 23
    Latest Threads: 05-07-2008, 01:28 PM
  2. Does anybody know a place in the City where I can get my PS3 fixed?

    By BlkWdwPrelude in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 12-30-2007, 11:56 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 09-27-2006, 06:18 PM
  4. WTB: NOKIA 7280 does anybody know where i can get one from??

    By G--UnIt in forum Cellular Products
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 07-17-2005, 09:06 AM
  5. anybody know someone who can change a motor out?

    By redblack in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 07-01-2005, 12:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •