Quantcast
Wireless internet help - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Wireless internet help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    STi
    Posts
    1,466
    Rep Power
    9

    Unhappy Wireless internet help

    When i'm working on my laptop, my wireless internet will cut out randomly. It's still technically connected to my network but it'll have "limited Connectivity," so it's pretty much like I'm not connected at all. This happens every 5-10 minutes or so, but later it'll work again. My sister's laptop works fine and doesn't cut out like mine does. Also, my wireless network is set on the top of the priority list so it isn't trying to connect to another network.

    Anyone have any ideas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    168
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    try reinstalling your network adapter???

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgarian Living in Edmonton
    My Ride
    93 240sx SE, 17 Infiniti Q50S, 2008 Highlander
    Posts
    6,434
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    What are you using as a router, and when its cutting out, was anyone using the microwave/phone or etc at the time?
    Originally posted by GTS Jeff
    You know those bored stay at home moms who's entire lives revolve around driving their kids to soccer, various cleaning accessories, and worrying about neighbourhood rapists? The kind of people that watch the View and go "uh huh..." Those unfulfilled people who try to fill the void in their empty lives by writing whiny letters to the editor complaining about shit that no one really cares about?

    Well imagine if instead of writing that letter to the editor, she just posts on a car forum for car enthusiasts. That's Kritafo.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Honda Civic 1995, 1996 Acura Integra
    Posts
    967
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    what brand's the router?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    STi
    Posts
    1,466
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    ^^ My router is a lynksys router, and no one was using any microwaves or phones at the time. My network adapter is a built in one so i don't think i can reinstall it. Also I've tried to "repair" it but it usually doesn't make it past the refresh IP part.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Axis powers
    Posts
    2,467
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    if you have a lower end laptop you will have a lower end wireless card that won't pick up the signal as good

    plus i find vista (if that's what you're using) keeps dropping my signal every so often, i could be 15' away from the router and have 3-4 bars and it won't connect unless i restart my computer
    Sig nuked by mod.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgarian Living in Edmonton
    My Ride
    93 240sx SE, 17 Infiniti Q50S, 2008 Highlander
    Posts
    6,434
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Upgrade to a N router if yours isnt....after I upgrade to a D-Link DIR-625, I've never had a dropped connection or weak signal
    Originally posted by GTS Jeff
    You know those bored stay at home moms who's entire lives revolve around driving their kids to soccer, various cleaning accessories, and worrying about neighbourhood rapists? The kind of people that watch the View and go "uh huh..." Those unfulfilled people who try to fill the void in their empty lives by writing whiny letters to the editor complaining about shit that no one really cares about?

    Well imagine if instead of writing that letter to the editor, she just posts on a car forum for car enthusiasts. That's Kritafo.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Kia Sorento 2014
    Posts
    112
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Upgrading to an N router will not help.. and is a complete waste of money if you have no N devices.

    Trying another router couldn't hurt though, just to rule it out as the issue

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Stampede Central
    My Ride
    is pretty sharp lookin'
    Posts
    2,021
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    i rmb a time when that happened...
    i think it was an ip conflict?
    so i just had to manually config the IP and for both, and then set it back to auto


    i'm pretty noob at this stuff haha

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    168
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by jsn
    ^^ My router is a lynksys router, and no one was using any microwaves or phones at the time. My network adapter is a built in one so i don't think i can reinstall it. Also I've tried to "repair" it but it usually doesn't make it past the refresh IP part.
    I meant to reinstall the software for it. What type of laptop do you have? If you go to the manufacturers website and click on support or something like that you should be alble to enter in your model # and find up to date drivers. Try reinstalling the network adapter driver and make sure your BIOS is up to date...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Calgary Alberta
    Posts
    415
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    if not change the channel from AUTO to an actual number
    i kept losing a signal being on AUTO channel, when i made my channel like 7 or 9 or w/e it hasnt dropped even once.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    STi
    Posts
    1,466
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Thanks for all the replies. How do I make sure my BIOS is up to date? Is that the drivers? I have a feeling that this isn't the problem though because when I'm at the U of C, I never drop signal. It's only at home.

    Also, how do you know which channel you select?

    It's wierd...my sister's laptop works fine and doesn't drop but my laptop and another compaq laptop we have drops everynow and then.

Similar Threads

  1. HELP! wireless/internet

    By frozenrice in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 07-05-2008, 06:24 PM
  2. Any IT guys that can give a NEWB some help with wireless internet basics?

    By Kona9 in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Latest Threads: 01-17-2008, 09:59 AM
  3. Help on Wireless Internet

    By moose_8 in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 02-08-2007, 12:14 PM
  4. need help with wireless internet

    By 3G in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 03-27-2006, 01:26 AM
  5. Wireless Internet Help

    By AznDragon2004 in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 02-08-2006, 10:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •