Quantcast
Replacing IDE DVD burner with SATA DVD burner problem - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Replacing IDE DVD burner with SATA DVD burner problem

  1. #1
    b_t's Avatar
    b_t is offline b_t is a huge nag (2019 friendly)
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Mordhaus
    My Ride
    FC3S 10AE / Tacoma
    Posts
    2,760
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Replacing IDE DVD burner with SATA DVD burner problem

    My current IDE DVD burner is broken - won't read anything anymore - so I bought a SATA burner to replace it. The actual hardware swap is no problem.

    My configuration
    Biostar TForce P965 mobo
    500gb IDE Seagate hard drive
    IDE Benq DVD burner, replacing with SATA Samsung DVD burner

    Everything is detected fine. I check in the Vista installer and all my files are there, the C: drive is, the DVD burner works fine. However, the hard drive becomes INCREDIBLY slow. As a slave drive, it is slow, and as a master, it is still slow. It takes over five minutes to display the Vista login screen and then god only knows how long to progress past that. I tried both jumping it as the master/single drive and as cable select, and tried both the slave & master connectors on the 80 wire IDE cable I have.

    What is the issue here? Everything looks fine but I can't find any clear cut reason for why my hard drive would become so incredibly slow. It is the only device connected to IDE after swapping the DVD burner. I just put my IDE burner back in and now the computer is fine again.

    What's the deal?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    A couple things come to mind.

    First, check the BIOS over. Check to see if the CD-ROM was manually set instead of auto-detect, in which case you should remove the settings.

    Check the DMA mode of the drive. It should be ATA-7 or ATA 133, or UDMA6.

    Next check/replace the IDE cable. They're fragile creatures, and kinks or nicks can cause all sorts of strange errors. Also make sure the ends are properly seated on both ends.

    If all of that doesn't help, reconnect the IDE dvd drive and see if the problem resolves. It might be that a bump or jolt while replacing the dvd drive caused damage to the hard drive.

  3. #3
    b_t's Avatar
    b_t is offline b_t is a huge nag (2019 friendly)
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Mordhaus
    My Ride
    FC3S 10AE / Tacoma
    Posts
    2,760
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I just installed both the IDE and SATA DVD drive and everything works fine. Then I just unplugged the IDE drive to see if it would continue work - it didn't. I must have a driver problem somewhere, but there is no where in the BIOS to adjust any kind of SATA settings.

    Plus the problem only seems to afflict Windows once it loads.. in safe mode or otherwise.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Did you check and replace the IDE cable like I suggested? Also, the DMA settings you are looking for are for the IDE hard drive, not the SATA CD-ROM.

    It is unlikely that this problem is related to the drivers. Unlike other hardware, CD-ROMs and hard drives use the standard windows driver.

    Can you run a hard drive benchtest with the IDE CD-ROM connected, and then one with it disconnected. The slow load issue may not be related to how fast the drive is going.

  5. #5
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,748
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    i'd say it's the DMA too... it's probably stuck in POI mode
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

  6. #6
    b_t's Avatar
    b_t is offline b_t is a huge nag (2019 friendly)
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Mordhaus
    My Ride
    FC3S 10AE / Tacoma
    Posts
    2,760
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    All my DMA and POI settings are set to auto, for the channel 0 master.

    I can't do a hard drive benchmark w/o my IDE DVD drive at all Spire.. I gave my computer an hour to login and it still hadn't reached the desktop.

  7. #7
    Thaco's Avatar
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,748
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    dd you try a bios update?
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

  8. #8
    b_t's Avatar
    b_t is offline b_t is a huge nag (2019 friendly)
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Mordhaus
    My Ride
    FC3S 10AE / Tacoma
    Posts
    2,760
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I'm on the new version of the BIOS yeah, they haven't been updated in a long time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    98
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by b_t
    All my DMA and POI settings are set to auto, for the channel 0 master.

    I can't do a hard drive benchmark w/o my IDE DVD drive at all Spire.. I gave my computer an hour to login and it still hadn't reached the desktop.
    This indicates to me that something else is causing the slowdown/lockup. Even in the slowest DMA mode, it wouldn't take that long to login. Did you install any software that came with the IDE burner? I would remove them if you did and see if that fixes the situation.

Similar Threads

  1. WTT : my IDE cd/dvd for your sata cd/dvd

    By ricosuave in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 03-14-2009, 01:49 PM
  2. E-IDE to SATA?

    By tha_bandit in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 08-27-2007, 08:11 PM
  3. FS : 40GB SATA and 20GB IDE drives

    By ricosuave in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 06-26-2006, 04:33 PM
  4. WTT: 120gb sata hd for any like ide drive

    By cidley69 in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 02-20-2006, 11:53 PM
  5. IDE to SATA Converters

    By Xaroxantu Zero in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 07-11-2005, 06:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •