Quantcast
high paying summer job (student or not a student) - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: high paying summer job (student or not a student)

Default high paying summer job (student or not a student)

i am having a dilemma with getting a full time job, high paying, labor intensive this summer.

not sure if i am going to get hired if i am a student.. alot of employers (i've been told by previous employers) think students are lazy and dont work very hard.

what do you guys think? should i include it on my resume or is it a no go.

i have a couple years related experience of labour, so i am pretty good in that regard. was an indentured electrician, have worked construction, laborer etc.

what do you guys think?

My Ride
    CBR600RR

Are you seriously not contemplating your education on your resume?
    In reference to Rob Anders:
    Originally posted by ZenOps
    Hes not really that bad...

My Ride
    Acura Integra

I would leave in that you are a student, but outline your work experience above it so that becomes the main focus of your resume.

On your cover letter, you would want to note your experience and how that sets you apart from "typical" students.

Originally posted by Eleanor
    Are you seriously not contemplating your education on your resume?
    for positions such as laborer, construction, etc................yes. like i said i've felt it has sometimes worked against me. i know for a fact i wouldn't of got my job as an electrician if i told them i was going to go to school after a year, they thought i was going to be a tradesman and go to school so i did so, and then pretty much quit after a year after making a ton of dough.

but yeah.....i am looking for high paying construction jobs.

Originally posted by Schwa
    I would leave in that you are a student, but outline your work experience above it so that becomes the main focus of your resume.