Quantcast
Electrical Help - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Electrical Help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,853
    Rep Power
    20

    Default Electrical Help

    So the breaker to our outdoor power outlets has been blown since we moved in. Apparently it was some fancy, old, rare breaker that nobody carries anymore. Home Depot and Rona have been unable to answer this question:

    Is there any harm in using a different breaker or do I -need- to buy this $160 breaker online?

    EDIT: I lent the breaker out to a construction buddy to see if he could find one and he hasn't given it back yet. All I can remember is that it was a Cutler-Hammer GFCB (Maybe GFCBH). Don't know poles or ampers.
    Last edited by Mibz; 06-02-2009 at 10:44 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    GrandForks BC
    My Ride
    Audi 5000 QT
    Posts
    895
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    just change up the breaker. shouldnt be a problem as long as its the same voltage as the previous one...i changed all mine out in the last place i lived in because they were all old school.. so call up a electrition or maybe someone here can do it for you.. pretty simple

    www.boostedalberta.com
    =[[Beyonds Dirtiest Daily Driver]]=
    Originally posted by dj_rice
    OOP or whatever that Out of Province Inspection is called

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,853
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Well I can do it myself, I just want to make sure I can use a different, cheaper, breaker without blowing up something.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgar3h
    My Ride
    S14|TB1
    Posts
    4,656
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    a circuit breaker is a circuit breaker, provided you get the same amp rating, there should be no problem using a different brand for 120v household lights etc, small things (not stoves etc)

    Edit : is there just one lever or are there a few all connected by a bridge?you can then determine the # of poles the cb is
    Last edited by n1zm0; 06-02-2009 at 11:20 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    rs4, ram, 675f3
    Posts
    1,373
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    it's a gfci ( ground fault circuit interuptor). figure out what panel you have and go to home depot and pick one up. if it's really old you'll have to go to a electrical supplier.
    or put gfci plugs on the outside of your house instead of regular plugs, then use a regular breaker.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgar3h
    My Ride
    S14|TB1
    Posts
    4,656
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    ^ oh so it's a xnsfrmr that detects current draw, interesting never heard of those.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2010 frontier pro-4x
    Posts
    555
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Originally posted by n1zm0
    ^ oh so it's a xnsfrmr that detects current draw, interesting never heard of those.
    What in the hells a xnsfrmr? but like Danno said if its that old school your best bet would be too replace the outdoor plugs too GFCI and use a regular breaker at the panel (assuming you can find it).

    Unfortionately different panel manufactors aren't always compatible with different breaker suppliers (regardless of the amperage) which is why if you can't find a breaker that fits (if its that old school), your best bet would be to update the panel & circuit breakers completely.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,853
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    That's more in line with what I thought the case would be. Thanks guys.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by HuMz


    What in the hells a xnsfrmr?
    I think he means transformer (at work we call it a tx on all OUR poles ha-ha.) This reminds me of a story of an EIT we took out in the field. We drove by a pole and he asked what the grey can up on the pole was, we told him it was a transformer, and he replied "huh, I always thought they were triangular'. What is the point of reducing an 11 letter word to a 7 letter word.



    OP: If you REALLY need help call EECOL or Cutler Hammer for specs and if they sell the breaker. Home Depot or Rona aren't really known for their top notch electrical help. To be honest though, the advice from the people who sound like electricians in this thread are fairly sound. Either do as they suggest or call one of the suppliers.
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    rs4, ram, 675f3
    Posts
    1,373
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    i sound like a electrician cause i am. i'm willing to give advice, but i'd always suggest a electrician do it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by danno
    i sound like a electrician cause i am. i'm willing to give advice, but i'd always suggest a electrician do it.
    i wasnt attacking you if that is what you thought. I was saying you guys were giving good advice.

    Kind of off topic:
    I have wondered how trades people can post from out in the field? Aren't you working on site?
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    rs4, ram, 675f3
    Posts
    1,373
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    no offense taken. just making sure op knows. i've never worked out of calgary, i work at south centre mall. all the lights in the new food court...yep that was me.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    You'll need to buy the proper breaker. Cutler Hammer breakers won't fit in other manafacturers panels, etc. I can't imagine a 15A or 20A breaker costing $160 though. Must be a two or three pole 50A or something. Does it feed a hot tub or something?

    If it feeds one of your bedroom plugs, the reason it's so expensive is that you are now required to have GFCI plugs in all bedrooms.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgar3h
    My Ride
    S14|TB1
    Posts
    4,656
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Originally posted by HuMz


    What in the hells a xnsfrmr?
    Transformer, it's what we used as semi quick short form in avionics and 'tx' for us means transmit (rx means recieve ) but I guess that wouldn't apply on a house lol

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by n1zm0


    Transformer, it's what we used as semi quick short form in avionics and 'tx' for us means transmit (rx means recieve ) but I guess that wouldn't apply on a house lol
    pfff avionics.........




    that does make sense though
    Last edited by Cos; 06-04-2009 at 07:27 AM.
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgar3h
    My Ride
    S14|TB1
    Posts
    4,656
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Originally posted by Cos


    pfff avionics.........




    that does make sense though
    actually even shorter would be xfrmr lol, too many technical words/terms in the aircraft industry, i swear it has the most damned acronyms out of any line of work.

    i take no offence to that, i dont do much avionics anymore just aircraft maint. now for a reason, but it's funny, everyone in the electronic/electrical fields has a little nerd in them some where (basically half the words posted here ppl would classify that as nerd talk haha ), i remember one AMT kid from SAIT explaining that because he couldnt see electricity, it was too complicated to understand . we basically got a electrican's crash course at SAIT aerospace first year, so a household electrician could very well jump on an aircraft and have a head start, wires are just smaller really and alot if them are terminated via computer type pins/plugs etc.
    Last edited by n1zm0; 06-04-2009 at 10:36 AM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,853
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Okay, so I know it's been awhile but I haven't paid too much attention to this recently.

    Anyway, I've discovered the following:
    It's a Commander panel (24 years old and discontinued) using QBH-type breakers. Cutler-Hammer now makes the replacements and I've found all the information I need to order the replacement except the amperage. QBHGF, 1 pole, 120 V.

    Like I mentioned before, the old breaker is gone, so what are my options? Can I just say 30 amps and be happy or do I -need- to match the old one?

    EDIT: Also, can anybody point me to a good electrical supply place so I can compare local prices to online? I've found the replacements at Bay Breakers for about $90 CAD + shipping which seems pretty good.
    Last edited by Mibz; 06-16-2009 at 09:01 PM.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Filthy south
    My Ride
    bus
    Posts
    704
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    check to size of wire for that circuit. If its for outside plugs it'll be just a 15 amp breaker.

    #14awg=15 amps
    #12awg= 20 amps
    #10awg= 30 amps

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,853
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    14awg it is. Kickass, thanks for the help guys!

    EDIT: And here's where the $160 comes into play... The 20 and 30 amp models are $80 USD but this guy is fucking $160. *rage*

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    rs4, ram, 675f3
    Posts
    1,373
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    eecol, gullivan those are the big two i have dealt with

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. LF: Electrical Design/Electrical Estimating work

    By Old Snake in forum Careers
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 08-13-2009, 06:29 PM
  2. Help! Electrical problems in 96 Explorer

    By qaxaz in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 07-09-2005, 07:35 AM
  3. Electrical help!!!

    By xDiMSuMx in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 06-01-2005, 03:25 PM
  4. Please help: electrical/starting problem

    By szw in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 15
    Latest Threads: 10-02-2003, 05:13 AM
  5. Crown Victori PP Need Electrical Help

    By CVPP in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 01-22-2003, 05:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •