Quantcast
Ram upgrade not working so good... - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ram upgrade not working so good...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary ab
    My Ride
    4x4
    Posts
    2,258
    Rep Power
    13

    Default Ram upgrade not working so good...

    G'day folks,

    IE8 forced me to finally get off my arse and upgrade the ram on this gateway m-6822 laptop... Opened her up, PC2-5300S - checked with gateway - 4gig max of pc2 5300 ram - went to memory express, picked up a pair of 2gig patriot PC2-5300 Sodimms.

    Installed them - get the bios boot screen, then hangs with just a flashing cursor in the top left corner... Checked and rechecked installation, swapped the order; no change. So I put one of the 512mb sticks in the upper slot - no change, lower slot - it boots, swapped the sodimms back and forth - both work fine and memtests fine.

    Can anyone enlighten me - as I wait for the st*pid gateway tech support folks in india to call me back...

    Thanks in advance,

    Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    hmm i just went to buy the exact same memory.... same shit happened to me and my newer ibm laptop.... maybe they selling shitty patriot sticks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,853
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I bought the same Patriot sticks last week (These) and installed them in a client's Toshiba laptop, worked fine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    331
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    put old RAM in upper slot and tell us what happens

    does it boot now ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary ab
    My Ride
    4x4
    Posts
    2,258
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    wont boot with the old ram in the upper slot either (mentioned in original post)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary ab
    My Ride
    4x4
    Posts
    2,258
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    http://forums.cnet.com/5208-12546_10...hreadID=294232

    Vista 32 can only support up to 3.5gig of ram... no more...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    as long as ur laptop can support it then it should at least boot into windows where you will only see 3.5 out of the 4. Its probably a compatibility issue with the ram. And one memory must be in the bottom slot at least usually.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    4,853
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Yeah dude, you can put 12 GB of RAM into a Vista 32-bit machine and it'll just recognize 3.5 GB. If the BIOS isn't recognizing it then a compatibility issue is what I'd expect. I dunno about Gateway, but I know HPs and Compaqs are pretty picky about their hardware, it would be something to look in to.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    calgary ab
    My Ride
    4x4
    Posts
    2,258
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Bios sees it fine - seems to be a vista issue - as i can boot linux livecd's and memtest with the 4gigs installed... Just vista blows chunks... Why am I not surprised...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NW Calgary
    My Ride
    '10 Civic
    Posts
    385
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Edit: Yea I would check the memory compatibility on their website if you can) and just return the other memory.
    Last edited by Boat; 07-14-2009 at 12:22 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. RAM Upgrade for Gateway 700GR

    By Hakkola in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 03-25-2009, 08:26 PM
  2. Ram Upgrade help needed...

    By Nufy in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Latest Threads: 10-03-2007, 11:30 PM
  3. Laptop Ram upgrade question

    By Dooms_Bane in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Latest Threads: 07-31-2007, 01:24 AM
  4. LF: Stock 96-98 Civic AM/FM Radio { Working or NOT working }

    By mik in forum Automotive Parts [Audio/Video/Radar Systems]
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 12-19-2006, 12:07 PM
  5. Fs:hd & Ram Ram Ram Ram Ram Ram Ram Ram

    By Crazyx88 in forum Computer Hardware & Peripherals
    Replies: 21
    Latest Threads: 09-28-2005, 09:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •