Quantcast
Home Alarm System...Help!! - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Home Alarm System...Help!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    495
    Rep Power
    19

    Default Home Alarm System...Help!!

    We bought our house about a year ago and it had the alarm system pre-installed...Once we moved in we tried to contact the previous owners for the code but were never able to get it. The system was not being monitored so we just left it alone.

    Today when I come home the trouble light on the keypad is on, and as soon as I open the doors the alarm goes off.

    I don't have a code and have no idea to fix this. Anyone know where I can get a master code or how I can reset the system?

    any help would be appreciated...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Wildflower Ranch
    My Ride
    Neo-Liberal Anarchist Mobile
    Posts
    2,217
    Rep Power
    35

    Default

    Sure. Here's the code:

    Quote Originally Posted by 89coupe View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Beyond, bunch of creme puffs on this board.
    Everything I say is satire.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2012 Mercedes-Benz GLK350
    Posts
    187
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Have you tried contacting the alarm company? They should be able to reset/disable it for you.
    2012 Mercedes-Benz GLK350 4Matic
    2009 Smart ForTwo "Passion"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    495
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    we arent too sure who used to monitor it.

    i contacted DSC (maker of the keypad) and all they could say is you need to phone a local company, and they wont help reset the alarm systems

    anyone work for a security company and have programmer codes or have the know-how to do it for me?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    BMW E70
    Posts
    1,195
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    There is no signs or decals on the home? Usually company's will have their sticker on the keypad. Most companies use the DSC keypads, at least in the entry level alarms. If you don't know who the company is, your best bet is going to be to cut the wire(s) to the siren in the basement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    495
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    no signs, decals or stickers indicating which company they used.

    the alarm stopped ringing after about 20 minutes so that's not a big deal anymore.

    the keypad still shows as if the system is armed, and anytime I open a window/door it beeps for about 5 minutes constantly than stops.

    Any idea's other than cutting wires?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2012 Mercedes-Benz GLK350
    Posts
    187
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Find the alarm box. It should be in the basement or a crawlspace kinda area. My last house had it in a hidden crawlspace. It should have the companies branding on it. You could just pull the power cord for it...

    Off topic... I hate ADT.
    I would home from work at about 4.45 am or so. AT 8 AM or so they'd phone my cell.
    "Mr. *****, you alarm has been tripped. Did you give someone access to your house?"
    "Uhhhh... you have the wrong number. Thats not my name, and I don't have ADT."
    "We need your secret passcode sir!"
    "I don't have ADT, now stop bothering me and f**k off!"
    It was eventually shortened to "This is ***** with ADT..." "Screw off and stop calling" *click*
    2012 Mercedes-Benz GLK350 4Matic
    2009 Smart ForTwo "Passion"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    9.872604, -85.498802
    My Ride
    Turbos n Stuff™
    Posts
    5,960
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Download the User Manual from the manufacturers website. It will explain the process for you. Basically have to short the system to forget the code. Definitely locate the Control Panel (PC Tower sized box somewhere in the house, usually furnace room with an alarm logo on it). Remove the backup batt and power down the bitch. The installer code is typically *8 and then the 4 digit model number.
    Travel

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    KTM
    Posts
    857
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Originally posted by Ben
    Download the User Manual from the manufacturers website. It will explain the process for you. Basically have to short the system to forget the code. Definitely locate the Control Panel (PC Tower sized box somewhere in the house, usually furnace room with an alarm logo on it). Remove the backup batt and power down the bitch. The installer code is typically *8 and then the 4 digit model number.
    OP let me know if this works- I have the same issue

    I think we chatted about this over PM a year ago!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    495
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Originally posted by craigcd


    OP let me know if this works- I have the same issue

    I think we chatted about this over PM a year ago!
    I went to the box in the furnace room, opened it up and disconnected the battery backup and had to disconnect the wiring to the keypads.

    The system has been powered down for now, I`ll worry about finding a company to monitor it when I get some time.

    Any suggestions for good monitoring companies?

    Thanks for the help..

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    9.872604, -85.498802
    My Ride
    Turbos n Stuff™
    Posts
    5,960
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Yeah, None of them. Monitoring is pretty much useless.
    Travel

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    BMW E70
    Posts
    1,195
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Originally posted by ronaldo


    I went to the box in the furnace room, opened it up and disconnected the battery backup and had to disconnect the wiring to the keypads.

    The system has been powered down for now, I`ll worry about finding a company to monitor it when I get some time.

    Any suggestions for good monitoring companies?

    Thanks for the help..
    I use ADT. Always been super happy with them. Make sure when you are looking for monitoring companies, you ask them if they have a cellular back-up system. Basically what it does is communicates with the monitoring station using the cellular network in the event of a power loss or if your phone lines are cut. IMO monitoring without a back-up is useless.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    495
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    I use VOIP phone at home so any company I use would have to use a cellular system as a backup anyways in the case my internet goes down.

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. home security ( alarm system )

    By gonefishing in forum General
    Replies: 11
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2006, 04:48 PM
  2. WTB:alarm or alarm/starter combo

    By Def_3 in forum Automotive Parts [Audio/Video/Radar Systems]
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 03-24-2004, 01:12 AM
  3. need help on which alarm system/starter to get

    By vincent-h in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Latest Threads: 03-19-2004, 03:20 PM
  4. Alarm speaker onto stock alarm?

    By redline_13000 in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 01-22-2004, 10:55 PM
  5. Help, Viper Alarm System...

    By Hakkola in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 09-25-2003, 10:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •