Quantcast
Collision damage: Pay cash, or through insurance - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Collision damage: Pay cash, or through insurance

Default Collision damage: Pay cash, or through insurance

I'm a fairly new driver and rear ended a woman on the weekend. Little more than a scrape on her bumper, but she has gotten a quote for bumper replacement for $1200. Cops say that bumper replacement is preferred to repair, which is why it's so high.

She's given me the option to pay cash, or to pay via insurance.

Is there any way for me to dispute the $1200 price tag, which seems a bit high?

Will the increase in my insurance be more than $1200, making it worthwhile to pay her cash?

Is there a rule of thumb for this sort of thing?

My Ride
    Audi

You're a new driver. Don't dispute it - if you do, she may just go thru insurance to fuck you over. My recommendation - pay the cash and get in writing that she will waive all rights to pursue any further action against you.

Calgary, Alberta, Canada, North America, Earth, The Milky Way . . .

tell her to get at least 3 quotes, not just 1

My Ride
    acura TYPE A

Default Re: Collision damage: Pay cash, or through insurance

Originally posted by Sally.Simpson
    I'm a fairly new driver and rear ended a woman on the weekend. Little more than a scrape on her bumper, but she has gotten a quote for bumper replacement for $1200. Cops say that bumper replacement is preferred to repair, which is why it's so high.

She's given me the option to pay cash, or to pay via insurance.

Is there any way for me to dispute the $1200 price tag, which seems a bit high?

Will the increase in my insurance be more than $1200, making it worthwhile to pay her cash?

Is there a rule of thumb for this sort of thing?