Quantcast
Help Me pick a NAS device - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Help Me pick a NAS device

My Ride
    Natural Gas.

Default Help Me pick a NAS device

Help me pick a NAS device. I've read a couple of the older threads on this topic, but I think this is an area where the technology changes pretty quickly, so fresh opinions would be appreciated. I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to networking, so go easy on me.

I need some network storage. Here are my requirements
    - Must work as a print server
    - Must use multiple drives in some form of RAID array for backup. ( I think Raid 1 would be sufficient)
    - Must be able to run by itself in my basement without an attached always-on computer.
    - Must be accessible to any computer connected to the network (hence the need for NAS, not just larger storage on one computer)

Would be nice if it was a bitTorrent server, but that's optional. Capacity-wise, I've been making do with 250 GB for a while now, so I'm thinking that 1.5 TB will last me a while.
    Not planning on streaming movies or any video from this device, so massive throughput is not a priority. Hoping to get a separate dedicated media device for movies in the future. For now I'll keep burning movies to DVD as needed.

I've been thinking two (or four) of the 1.5TB WD Caviar Green drives would be great for this application.

What would you suggest?
    I've been looking at these three:
    Mediasonic Pro Box 4 Bay 3.5in Enclosure
    D-Link DNS-323 2-Bay Gigabit Network Storage Enclosure w/ USB print server
    D-Link DNS-343 4-Bay Gigabit Network Storage Enclosure

Looks like Memory Express has two of these on sale until the 27th, so quick responses would be appreciated. I might go buy this on the 27th.
    Last edited by ExtraSlow; 12-25-2009 at 11:00 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by killramos View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote