Quantcast
Microsoft Access - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Microsoft Access

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Corvette
    Posts
    587
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Microsoft Access

    I'm trying to make a macro to do a 'msgbox' action, however the message box where I want to type the text to alert the user is very small and won't let me go down to the next line, every time i press enter it closes the window...anyone familiar with access that can please help me? thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    My Ride
    Civic
    Posts
    422
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    I wish I knew myself, I'm making a switchboard.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    White Car #3
    Posts
    152
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Make a form with the msg on it using a label, design the form to look like a msg box. Create the macro to open that form.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The White Ghetto
    My Ride
    Altima Se-R
    Posts
    2,362
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    God I hate access. I'm done most of it, I just have to pretty it up.
    sig deleted by moderator, click here for info

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    5,497
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    Try ctrl+enter.

    I know that whenever you have a text box you can start a new line by hitting ctrl+enter.

    But if it's a message box, how many words are you trying to fit into the message box? If you make one in visual basic then you can fit hundreds of words in. To make a message box in VB, go to the class module and type something like:

    Private sub somefunction()
    Dim strmsg As String
    strmsg = "Type anything you want here. This is your message. " _
    & "It's neater if you use syntax like this so everything shows on one screen (use the & and _)."
    MsgBox strmsg
    exit sub

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    1,991
    Rep Power
    30

    Default

    is there a single-line or multi-line option?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    White Car #3
    Posts
    152
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Which one of yous are harrassing me in the clubs office @ Uni?
    If this is for Mgis317, don't worry too much about it.
    The moment you step into the event module and play with the VB stuff you're going beyond the scope of what is required of you.

    If the database works then you'll get your marks. As long you have your M to M relationship, and if you have your queries, 2 of them it's good. I don't think i've ever seen anyone get less than 95 percent on their presentation.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Corvette
    Posts
    587
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Thanks for the help richardchan2002 !!


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    5,497
    Rep Power
    27

    Default

    I hope it helped. Let me know if you have any other problems.

    If you're in MGIS317 Doesn't sound like it's required, but it will definitely work. If you haven't figured it out from my crappy instructions and still want to know just for future reference then PM me.

Similar Threads

  1. Official New Forum Software Bug and Suggestions Tracker - legendboy is wrong

    By kenny in forum Suggestion/Comment Box/Forum Related Stuff
    Replies: 303
    Latest Threads: 12-20-2023, 10:47 AM
  2. Microsoft Registry Access error

    By 94CoRd in forum General
    Replies: 15
    Latest Threads: 06-17-2003, 02:51 PM
  3. Guest Access...

    By Ben in forum Suggestion/Comment Box/Forum Related Stuff
    Replies: 14
    Latest Threads: 08-14-2002, 08:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •