Quantcast
Tech question on car alarms - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tech question on car alarms

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    451
    Rep Power
    21

    Default Tech question on car alarms

    Hey,

    My current alarm has been acting funny for the last couple weeks. When i press the autostart button i get a signal that my car is not in gear, thus my car will not start. I'm assuming that there might be a wire loose somewhere, I just don't where. Any suggestions????

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    YYC
    My Ride
    BMW E70
    Posts
    1,195
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    With mine, I have to leave the car in neutral, set the parking brake and take the key out (can't press the brake) then take out the key. It runs for 15-20 seconds then shuts off and arms...If its under warranty still maybe take it back to the shop?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    602
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    what kind of alarm

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    CA/AB
    Posts
    1,818
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    compustar right?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    451
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Actually i have a Astrostart.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    My Ride
    1995 Acura Integra GSR
    Posts
    33
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    where did you get it from? sounds similar to a problem Ive had with mine

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    451
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    I forget the name of the place that installed it, it's at the Montery Park Plaza. Anyways, i was getting the signal that my car was out of gear. I figured that i may have pulled a wire loose when i installed my deck. I think i found the wire, still waiting to see if it happen again.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Auto dream
    My Ride
    RB26-s14
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Astro start use two lazer beam that mount on to your shifter. and the can get misalign very easy. there is a special tool needed to align them. So you should bring it back to the shop that install it to have it align again.
    AutoDream

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    South
    My Ride
    1993 240; 2003 R6
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    That whole laser alignment thing sounds pretty weird to me.

Similar Threads

  1. Quick Tech question

    By mxer13 in forum Performance Modifications
    Replies: 9
    Latest Threads: 09-29-2002, 11:38 PM
  2. has anyone heard of tech works?

    By 2000impreza in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 3
    Latest Threads: 08-05-2002, 10:58 PM
  3. G-Tech??

    By James in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 07-11-2002, 04:20 PM
  4. Pro-solo tomorrow night...also pre-tech

    By 4wheeldrift in forum Events and Meets
    Replies: 20
    Latest Threads: 06-06-2002, 12:12 PM
  5. Tech section

    By 5.9 R/T in forum Suggestion/Comment Box/Forum Related Stuff
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 05-20-2002, 06:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •