Quantcast
TPMS Failure.... and yes I searched - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: TPMS Failure.... and yes I searched

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default TPMS Failure.... and yes I searched

    I have read as many threads as I can about this problem and none of them hit are the problem I am experiencing. I dont have new tires and I am not getting a code.

    I received a Tire Pressure Sensor Failure warning on the dash as well as a flashing/stable idiot light. I stopped and checked all the pressures and they were all perfect. I pulled codes (using my edge) and nothing showed up. Problem with that is if it was a low battery in the sensor I should still be pulling a code.

    It is a 2007 so would be very surprised if the battery has died already. What else can I do?
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    2008 Z06
    Posts
    3,616
    Rep Power
    44

    Default Re: TPMS Failure.... and yes I searched

    Originally posted by Cos
    I have read as many threads as I can about this problem and none of them hit are the problem I am experiencing. I dont have new tires and I am not getting a code.

    I received a Tire Pressure Sensor Failure warning on the dash as well as a flashing/stable idiot light. I stopped and checked all the pressures and they were all perfect. I pulled codes (using my edge) and nothing showed up. Problem with that is if it was a low battery in the sensor I should still be pulling a code.

    It is a 2007 so would be very surprised if the battery has died already. What else can I do?
    What kind of car is it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    6,860
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    ...
    Last edited by Sugarphreak; 06-17-2019 at 09:39 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Sorry 2007 F150.

    I will try that, I am thinking it is a computer failure because it doesnt say low pressure it says system failure. I will try tomorrow regardless thanks.




    edit: actually the more I think about this the more it makes sense. It could take a while to lose just a bit of pressure and with the cold weather it could have just dropped it below the lower threshold.
    Last edited by Cos; 04-12-2010 at 08:53 PM.
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    99
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    did you check the spare?? usually the full size spare tire also has a tpms... but it usually doesnt keep flashing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    ^^ someone on the F150 forums suggested that a band broke (I guess they are bands, not valve stem ones) and they just let go sometimes.
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    .
    My Ride
    .
    Posts
    654
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    If you don't want the sensors, I've heard that you can reprogram the TPMS to read to one sensor, and to have that sensor read 'ok' at atmospheric... so you can toss it in the glove compartment, and not have a light on.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by Abeo
    If you don't want the sensors, I've heard that you can reprogram the TPMS to read to one sensor, and to have that sensor read 'ok' at atmospheric... so you can toss it in the glove compartment, and not have a light on.
    do you have a link for this? Every thread I have read says you cant do anything except re-program it as if it is pre-2006 which is when the TPMS was not mandated by US law.
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    .
    My Ride
    .
    Posts
    654
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    I first read about it here: http://www.rangerpowersports.com/for...highlight=tpms
    detailed process here:
    http://www.rangerpowersports.com/for...d.php?t=231892

    Not sure how different the F150 and the ranger systems are

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by Abeo
    I first read about it here: http://www.rangerpowersports.com/for...highlight=tpms
    detailed process here:
    http://www.rangerpowersports.com/for...d.php?t=231892

    Not sure how different the F150 and the ranger systems are
    that is f**king brilliant. If I break the tire down and it is going to be a pain then I will do this for sure.

    Thanks
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Wooo according to cam Clark, my sensor is warranty!
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NA
    Posts
    1,307
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    .
    Last edited by Rat Fink; 12-05-2020 at 12:53 AM.
    Thanks for the 14 years of LOLs. Govern yourselves accordingly and avoid uppercut reactions!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Well it went away on it's own before I got the chance to take it to Cam Clark. It didnt worry me anyways.

    It came back this morning and got fed up and googled since I got home from work. I found an obscure Ford Service Bulletin that explains that the use of steel belted radials can cause interference in the RF system. Go out and check, sure enough my NEW Toyo 10 ply's are steel belted. That is great for life but it seems I am stuck with a ghost warning.

    I may have to try that sensor fool trick.
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    05 GDB V.8 / ZX10R / T1-7L
    Posts
    3,193
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Ford TPMS have individual PIDs you wont be able to fool the computer.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by RickDaTuner
    Ford TPMS have individual PIDs you wont be able to fool the computer.
    2007/2008 had dumb sensors so they can be tricked, 2009+ have smart sensors that are individual and need to be reprogrammed even on a rotate
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    05 GDB V.8 / ZX10R / T1-7L
    Posts
    3,193
    Rep Power
    25

    Default

    Well then lol.

    I hope it works out for you. I used to hate doing tire rotation on super duties with TMPS sensors.
    You take like 30 psi out of the rears and add it to the fronts, rotate, then reprogram the TPMS. All for which they allotted you something like 0.3/hr to do @ 60-70lbs a tire/wheel combo

    You might though; now that I think about it, have issues if you just put one in your glovebox as was suggested, as these sensors go to sleep mode when the car is not in motion. They wake up above 40km/hr i think it was.

    Either way keep us updated, I am curious to see how this plays out.
    Last edited by RickDaTuner; 04-26-2010 at 08:38 PM.

  17. #17
    Thaco is offline sucks off little boys (ya, don't fuck with rage2 bitch!!!)
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Rage2
    Posts
    3,868
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    take out the bulb in the dash
    User title molested by Rage2.

    Quote Originally Posted by rage2 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's not the size that matters, it's the taste it leaves in your mouth.

    Quote Originally Posted by JRSC00LUDE
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I say stupid shit all the time.
    ^^ Fact Checked


    Quote Originally Posted by Misterman View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    No logic, thought, input, etc from cult member...

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by RickDaTuner
    Well then lol.

    I hope it works out for you. I used to hate doing tire rotation on super duties with TPMS sensors. take like 30 psi out of the rears and add it to the fronts, then reprogram the TMPS. All for which they allotted you something like 0.3/hr to do

    You might though now that I think about it, have issues if you just put one in your glovebox as was suggested, as these sensors go to sleep mode when the car is not in motion.

    either way keep us updated, I am curious to see how this plays out.
    You very well could be right tho, I am just going off all the god darned googling I did. Haha.

    It seems on my year 150 they only mass broadcast an okay code and are turned on by a counter weight that rotates. Newer ones most likely are smart and send much more info.


    But honestly who the hell knows. Haha I'll keep this going for an FYI of the many other ford owners who have this.




    Oh it also appears that run flat tires cause this same problem. Stupid design
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    Originally posted by Thaco
    take out the bulb in the dash
    I have a messaging center that gives me warnings too.
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Peoples Republic of Albertastan
    Posts
    5,245
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    god dammit, low pressure warning this AM and had 20 PSI in it. Seems awfully coincidental to be doing that today.
    Originally posted by adam c

    Line goes up, line goes down, line does squiggly things and fucks Alberta
    "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones"

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Small damage to back of car; you buy yes yes?

    By 2EFNFAST in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 13
    Latest Threads: 10-20-2008, 02:56 PM
  2. searched - need help finding website

    By frozenrice in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 02-26-2007, 01:54 PM
  3. I searched but didn't really find:

    By 2BLUE in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 01-29-2007, 11:53 PM
  4. Yes, Yes, Yes

    By GorG in forum Misc. Gallery
    Replies: 17
    Latest Threads: 10-24-2005, 06:45 PM
  5. Searched High and Low...

    By doublepostwhore in forum Mechanical
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 03-19-2005, 10:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •