Quantcast
Do you need a permit to build a shed? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Do you need a permit to build a shed?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    394
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Do you need a permit to build a shed?

    Do you need a permit to build a shed?

    Someone is asking me that question, buying one, vs building one.

    where do they draw the line, I know you sort of need a permit for everything.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    05 g35, 08 altima coupe, 10 pathfinder
    Posts
    635
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    it depends on how big the shed is going to be. not 100 percent sure though

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,492
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    heloc that shit

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    calgary.ab.ca
    My Ride
    E90M3 510 Wagon
    Posts
    7,660
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    under 10'x10' and you are good i believe... not 100% sure if that is true in calgary or not though

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    394
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by lint
    try here http://content.calgary.ca/CCA/City+B...al+Permits.htm

    or call 311

    A Building Permit is NOT required for:
    Fences.
    Retaining walls that retain less than one metre
    of soil.
    Swimming pools, hot tubs and ponds that are not
    capable of holding more than 600 mm of water.
    Painting, decorating and general maintenance.
    Minor repairs using similar or same materials
    for maintenance unless the changes involve
    electrical or mechanical work.
    Accessory buildings that are not greater than 10
    square metres in area and are not habitable.




    thanks. I'll just make it 10 sq metres. The ceiling, walls foundation will all be poured/re-inforced concrete.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    402
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    What are you using that shed for, are you in the NE and need to fortify?

    click for larger version
    » Click image for larger version

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    394
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by e31
    What are you using that shed for, are you in the NE and need to fortify?

    click for larger version
    » Click image for larger version

    no, the home is in the SW

    concrete is pretty standard for many garages so why not sheds

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Red Deer, AB
    Posts
    635
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    lol... most garages have concrete walls & ceilings?

    I could see a concrete foundation being somewhat useful... but concrete walls & ceiling, that seems like overkill for a 100 sq ft shed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,492
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    zombie apocalypse!!
    heloc that shit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    138
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by thetransporter



    A Building Permit is NOT required for:
    Fences.
    Retaining walls that retain less than one metre
    of soil.
    Swimming pools, hot tubs and ponds that are not
    capable of holding more than 600 mm of water.
    Painting, decorating and general maintenance.
    Minor repairs using similar or same materials
    for maintenance unless the changes involve
    electrical or mechanical work.
    Accessory buildings that are not greater than 10
    square metres in area and are not habitable.




    thanks. I'll just make it 10 sq metres. The ceiling, walls foundation will all be poured/re-inforced concrete.

    You might want to call "Call-Before-You-Dig" first.
    It's free and they will tell you where the power, gas lines, etc. are. Good to know for several reasons:
    1. you might dig into a gas line obviously
    2. if the city need to get to them for service, they will jack hammer your foundation.

    edit: you can use concrete slabs for the floor. By the way, I thought you need a permit if it's higher than 4'.

    edit 2: if your shed is about 10 square meters, that's a fawking big shed, more like a barn...lol.
    Last edited by shutterbug_art8; 05-21-2010 at 01:46 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    394
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by shutterbug_art8



    You might want to call "Call-Before-You-Dig" first.
    It's free and they will tell you where the power, gas lines, etc. are. Good to know for several reasons:
    1. you might dig into a gas line obviously
    2. if the city need to get to them for service, they will jack hammer your foundation.

    edit: you can use concrete slabs for the floor. By the way, I thought you need a permit if it's higher than 4'.

    edit 2: if your shed is about 10 square meters, that's a fawking big shed, more like a barn...lol.

    yeah they came out. the other day.

    i been calling 311 i get different answers.

    I will keep everyone posted!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    394
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by masoncgy
    lol... most garages have concrete walls & ceilings?

    I could see a concrete foundation being somewhat useful... but concrete walls & ceiling, that seems like overkill for a 100 sq ft shed.

    well not ceilings, by why not?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Back in Calgary
    My Ride
    03 Mdx, 05 Gli
    Posts
    612
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    I believe the number is 108 sq ft... any larger and you need a permit...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    300C srt8, Venza, F150, Expedition
    Posts
    1,435
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    10 sq/m = 107.6391 sq/ft

    10ft x 10ft = 100 sq/ft
    Burn some serious rubber on your Wedding Night!!


    Renovating a home the hard way:
    http://propertysensei.wordpress.com/

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Built Ford Tough
    Posts
    3,095
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Originally posted by barmanjay
    10 sq/m = 107.6391 sq/ft

    10ft x 10ft = 100 sq/ft
    That's some fine calculating there point dexter

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    300C srt8, Venza, F150, Expedition
    Posts
    1,435
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Originally posted by TomcoPDR


    That's some fine calculating there point dexter
    I'm all about numbers
    Burn some serious rubber on your Wedding Night!!


    Renovating a home the hard way:
    http://propertysensei.wordpress.com/

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    818
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Originally posted by thetransporter



    well not ceilings, by why not?
    Cost? Just do a concrete foundation like everything else. I don't even see many garages with concrete walls.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    394
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by BlackArcher101


    Cost? Just do a concrete foundation like everything else. I don't even see many garages with concrete walls.
    cinder block is pretty common. you maybe in a newer area

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    100
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    ya please post results of this project, I've been thinking about building one myself. I just don't like the idea of those plastic ones, they just don't seem durable.

    I'm wondering what the cost will be to build one though.

    Originally posted by thetransporter


    cinder block is pretty common. you maybe in a newer area
    cinder blocks stacked 2 high, buried, and filled with concrete?? is that what you would do? Then just anchor it down like you would a garage?
    Last edited by nonofyobiz; 05-24-2010 at 08:12 AM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    calgary
    My Ride
    acura TYPE A
    Posts
    394
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by nonofyobiz
    ya please post results of this project, I've been thinking about building one myself. I just don't like the idea of those plastic ones, they just don't seem durable.

    I'm wondering what the cost will be to build one though.



    cinder blocks stacked 2 high, buried, and filled with concrete?? is that what you would do? Then just anchor it down like you would a garage?

    My idea is not even blocks just rebar and re-enforced concrete, much more better if the ground shifts. just fill it in. sort of the like that picture someone posted, then put siding over it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 87
    Latest Threads: 09-25-2017, 12:10 PM
  2. Do you need a permit to replace light switch/outlet?

    By UndrgroundRider in forum Home and Garden
    Replies: 7
    Latest Threads: 09-21-2010, 09:56 PM
  3. Replies: 11
    Latest Threads: 06-20-2009, 10:27 PM
  4. WTB / LF: Someone to Build an Outdoor storage shed

    By jmc in forum Miscellaneous Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 08-20-2007, 08:49 PM
  5. Shed and Shed Extension Kit

    By jmc in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 06-05-2007, 04:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •