Quantcast
The scuba diving thread - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 1 of 21 1 2 11 ... LastLast

Thread: The scuba diving thread

Default Anyone Scuba dive?

Just thinking I may get a set of equipment.. I've never done it before, but with the ocean at my doorstep I wouldnt mind having a set of gear to go explore a little bit..

I've been keeping an eye on used gear, but I may just use an online store to get a set, suggestions?.. I just have to do some homework on what to get and where to get it....

Tips?

Where are you living? NS? You'll probably need a dry suit and such to dive there. I'm not too familiar with the diving there...but personally I'm of the type to go for reefs and generally warmer water climates so I can't help you much with that info.

In case you're going with a dry suit setup, I'm pretty sure that the certification for it is completely different than a wet suit setup and costs quite a bit more as well.

Diving is amazing no matter what kind you get into.
    Originally posted by rage2
    #1: don't ever question me.

When I am in NS, I'm the north shore, so the water is decent.. Surface temps in the 70's... Wont be diving very deep around there.. 30-40 feet tops maybe.... And only in the middle of summer, so a wetsuit would likely do me.

My Ride
    (maah raahde)

I was just about to start a thread on this too.

I got my PADI certification earlier this year in Jamaica and just came back from a dive in Mexico a couple weeks ago and I'm fucking hooked. I'll probably be doing another dive in Florida before the year's over.

I searched and it looks like there's a few experienced divers on here. Anyone recommend any of the dive shops here in Calgary? I'm thinking at the very least I should have my own goggles, snorkel, and flippers.