Quantcast
Reliable mechanic in Calgary? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: Reliable mechanic in Calgary?

Default Reliable mechanic in Calgary?

If anyone has noticed my first two posts, I have a few different problems with my 94 Ford Probe GT. A leaking water pump, a slipping transmission (automatic), and oil leaking from my spark plugs. Suprisingly enough I have had these problems for well over a year, and I am still driving it. Lucky me. I have been a full time student steady for the last two years and have not had money to fix it. (hence the still existing problems) I have a little money now but don't know where to start. Is my car worth fixing, it has 165,000 km's on it, or should I try to find a good mechanic and get fixing? I really appreciate any advice on these problems. This forum is awesome, people actually talk to you like you are an equal. (Not like some other forums!) Anyways, thanks for the help in the past. It's nice to get free advice for a change!!

you can pour in a tranny conditioner to fix the problem of slipping if its not too bad..the other way is a tranny overhaul but that means alot of $$$

My Ride
    Really FAST Ones

Originally posted by 89EF
    you can pour in a tranny conditioner to fix the problem of slipping if its not too bad..the other way is a tranny overhaul but that means alot of $$$
    DO NOT DO THIS. The conditioner works by softening up the seals in the trans but it continues to soften them until they swell up so baddly your transmission is pouring oil everywhere.
    Lookin Good is Goin FAST
    "HOME of the AWD DYNO"

My Ride
    '07 Ranger FX4 Level II

Default Re: Reliable mechanic in Calgary?

Originally posted by Spruce View