Quantcast
Remote start. What good right now? - Page 2 - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 42

Thread: Remote start. What good right now?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,879
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I just got a Viper 5501 installed in my moms car. Amazing unit! Every bloody feature in the book. Comes with the flattest 2 way LCD remote available that, get this, has a replaceable internal li-ion battery that is charged via a mini-USB cord. No more buying batteries!

    Its also completely compatible with smart start should she want the upgrade.

    Came to $450 installed, all options, for a '10 VW jetta. Its cheaper than normal as i paid for the 2-way LED remote system but due to the unit being DOA they upgraded her for free, no charge. $100 difference.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    edmonton
    Posts
    73
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i've had problems with the Viper system for my IS. Had that removed and refunded. I never should have wandered from Compustar. Have had them installed in all my vehicles with no problems.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    Cattle Train
    Posts
    195
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    where did you get it installed spike98?
    sounds pretty good.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,879
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Originally posted by friedn00dles
    i've had problems with the Viper system for my IS. Had that removed and refunded. I never should have wandered from Compustar. Have had them installed in all my vehicles with no problems.
    Im a strong believer that its 80% install and 20% brand. I had a $89 autostart from crappy tire installed in a older vehicle for 6 years that STILL works great to this day. I have also had a 3 month old compustar cease to work in my 200sx for no apparent reason.


    Originally posted by irs
    where did you get it installed spike98?
    sounds pretty good.
    I got it done at visions in medicine hat, our options are limited to visions and future shit. I took the lesser of two evils as i know the installer.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    Cattle Train
    Posts
    195
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    ouch that sucks
    thanks for the info

    I do believe it comes down to the install.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    Posts
    2,189
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Originally posted by sexualbanana
    Does anyone have a recommendation on where to buy a Compustar and for install?
    Joe at Autotech uses compustar exclusively, and is a really good guy...

    219.0871
    Bob Blakeborough

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    480
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    1+ Joe at Autotech 2 way led!

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    Jeep WJ
    Posts
    411
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I'm going to Autotech for my 2-way install on Friday.

    Lowest price / Quickest install around town that I found.

    Seems like I made a good decision .

    I'll let you know how it goes.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,449
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Originally posted by spike98
    I just got a Viper 5501 installed in my moms car. Amazing unit! Every bloody feature in the book. Comes with the flattest 2 way LCD remote available that, get this, has a replaceable internal li-ion battery that is charged via a mini-USB cord. No more buying batteries!

    Its also completely compatible with smart start should she want the upgrade.

    Came to $450 installed, all options, for a '10 VW jetta. Its cheaper than normal as i paid for the 2-way LED remote system but due to the unit being DOA they upgraded her for free, no charge. $100 difference.
    hows the range on it? is it anywhere close to the advertised 1 mile?

    i was offered a really good deal on the 5501 and might be getting it installed this week

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    2000 Toyota Celica GT
    Posts
    282
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Joe @ Autotech

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,879
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Originally posted by turbotrip


    hows the range on it? is it anywhere close to the advertised 1 mile?

    i was offered a really good deal on the 5501 and might be getting it installed this week
    I haven't tested it really but i can start it from my office. There is a lot of concrete between me and my car while i am in here and it started great yesturday.

    1 mile will be in a open field. If you think its a really good deal i suggest getting it. Its a good starter from what i can tell so far.

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    480
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    get compustar, and add droid! you can start your car via smart phone from any where.

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CALGARY
    Posts
    1,167
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Originally posted by _wrx_
    get compustar, and add droid! you can start your car via smart phone from any where.
    Really?

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    some blue car
    Posts
    285
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by 2BLUE


    Really?
    http://www.dronemobile.com/

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Medicine Hat
    My Ride
    MY97 WRX
    Posts
    571
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    If youre wanting a smart start get either Viper or Autostart. Both are more inexpensive for both the units and for the subscription.

    You can start your car just as long as you have cellphone service with both your car and phone.

    Have installed each of the units, I prefer the autostart mainly because its inexpensive yearly ($60). Plus you can just buy standalone units, meaning you dont have to buy a starter then buy the add on, just buy the standalone and its all you need.

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Slow Injected
    Posts
    505
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Whoa I didn't know autotech is so well known. I got mine done there, clean install and pretty quick (around 1.5-2hours). I paid cash and only got it slightly cheaper than Futureshop so not sure how wicked of a deal you guys are got



  17. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    124
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by SlickA70
    I'm going to Autotech for my 2-way install on Friday.

    Lowest price / Quickest install around town that I found.

    Seems like I made a good decision .

    I'll let you know how it goes.
    Please do, Id be interested in knowing what you paid if thats okay?

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    403
    My Ride
    Jeep WJ
    Posts
    411
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by KeepItGully


    Please do, Id be interested in knowing what you paid if thats okay?
    Things didnt work out as expected, I had a group of 7 people and Autotech was a good deal. I went through someone else and get everything done $100 cheaper same day.

    PM me if your interested!

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Slow Injected
    Posts
    505
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    After some more research in alarm installation I take back what I said about Joe at Autotech, wicked deals !!
    Last edited by gyu; 02-04-2011 at 12:45 PM.



  20. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cowtown
    My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5
    Posts
    5,855
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Who would people recommend to get a manual starter put in? I've read a few horror stories on G35driver because installers did not wire and/or put the proper safety switches, etc on.
    Follow me on Instagram and Facebook!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS: Nordic Start NS-1014 Remote Start & Keyless Entry

    By Kyle___19 in forum Automotive Parts [Engine Electronics]
    Replies: 4
    Latest Threads: 09-21-2009, 09:38 AM
  2. Replies: 17
    Latest Threads: 02-15-2009, 10:49 AM
  3. What's a good car to rent right now?

    By treg50 in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 07-21-2008, 10:49 AM
  4. What is the Best Security System with LCD Remote and Remote Start/Window Control?

    By kman13 in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 10-15-2005, 07:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •