Quantcast
New to This - Exterior Paint - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: New to This - Exterior Paint

Default New to This - Exterior Paint

Hello,

I'm fairly new to even the concept of doing anything to my car other than driving it and occasionally changing the oil on time.

Right now I have a 2000 Dodge Neon and am in the process of repairing/replacing the damaged panels. My car is in good condition but suffered from being hit in parking lots, and the front bumper cover consistantly smashing against the pavement because the art of making driveways that can accomodate small cars and not trucks is lost on the builders in my city.

I have a few questions:

How much can I expect to pay for a quality solid-colored paint job? I've disliked my neon's paint (both the color and quality) ever since I bought it and this seems like a good place to start.

Also, how do I evaluate the shops I'm looking at? Should my paint job have a warranty?

About the bumper hitting the street:

This is a huge problem for me, are there any mods that would actually *raise* my Neon's level to maybe stop this from happening as often? I've learned to identify most of the driveways in the city that will scrape, but all it takes is a moment of forgetfulness and I pull out too fast and screw it up all over again. I'd like to do more on my Neon but I'm worried most mods will just be ruined by the driveway factor.

Thanks.
    Last edited by eglionz; 08-22-2015 at 12:27 PM.

My Ride
    ...BNT0B0X...

Hi Stephanie and welcome to Beyond...is your Neon lowered in any way??...I mean from what i can gather, and having driven a couple of Neon's...I havent really had the problem of them scraping their front bumpers on anyting really, but a friend of mine with a lowered Neon does sometimes encounter the scrapes on the really steep ones...