Quantcast
Remote start and FOB key? Disable? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Remote start and FOB key? Disable?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CALGARY
    Posts
    1,167
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Remote start and FOB key? Disable?

    A friend of mine just bought a 2010 Dodge Ram which has a FOB key. I've got the truck in the garage ready to install a compustar but i can't seem to get any real anwsers if i can do it. Called a few install shops and 2 said they can't and 1 said they could. Help!!!

    Will the truck run without the FOB key?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    '16 F-150 Lariat 5.0
    Posts
    495
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    by FOB key you mean immobilizer... you will need a bypass module.

    Check out the12volt forums for more information. Cruise threads in the automotive electronics forum here on beyond for details on which shops are recommended.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CALGARY
    Posts
    1,167
    Rep Power
    9

    Default


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cochrane, AB
    Posts
    1,878
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I would say its totally possible but you would need a programmed key for the bypass. Doesn't dodge have a factory solution for remote start? I would seriously consider that as an option. The price of buying the unit after the fact might be very close to an aftermarket solution. Without the need for a bypass and having two fobs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    602
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Tip keys are super easy.. it's like a 8 wire install with the Idatalink CA... I love doing those cars..

    Power, Ground, Ignition, Can HIGH, Can Low Park light flash, siren, and Rap shut down..
    Last edited by silvercivicsir; 11-24-2010 at 05:15 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    My Ride
    99 ITR
    Posts
    266
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Ya any futureshop or bestbuy can sell you the security bypass module. If you are doing a compustar you can use an idata blade it is the simplest for installation. http://www.idatalink.com/search/index/model/6524

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CALGARY
    Posts
    1,167
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    I have never heard of this software.

    What is the software for? the compustar or the truck?

    Either way im passing on this install.
    Sometimes you have to take a chance, whether that be on someone, or something!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    602
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    it's for the idata link module.. that is required to bypass the transponder and to communicate with the car.. Seriously if you know what your doing, the 2008 to 2010 dodges are the easiest cars you can do.. No more resistors, more MUX wires, and no more isolating park lights..

    1 to 2 hour max... (2 hours being if you have never done one before)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    You Crazy
    Posts
    2,008
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by silvercivicsir
    it's for the idata link module.. that is required to bypass the transponder and to communicate with the car.. Seriously if you know what your doing, the 2008 to 2010 dodges are the easiest cars you can do.. No more resistors, more MUX wires, and no more isolating park lights..

    1 to 2 hour max... (2 hours being if you have never done one before)
    you have PM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CALGARY
    Posts
    1,167
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Easy was my GM with VAT system!!

    I passed this one up but did do some digging into the dash and what not reading with a volt meter but that didn't do much if anything. Customer wants push button with no rfid.
    Sometimes you have to take a chance, whether that be on someone, or something!

Similar Threads

  1. Command Start key Fob

    By hipeagle in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 11-05-2009, 09:55 PM
  2. model CS- 555 key fob

    By click-rempel in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Latest Threads: 11-30-2006, 10:42 AM
  3. GM's new key fob can check fuel level, tire pressures

    By benyl in forum Automotive News
    Replies: 23
    Latest Threads: 11-19-2006, 10:23 PM
  4. Key Fob Programming

    By larencel in forum General Car/Bike Talk
    Replies: 2
    Latest Threads: 11-25-2005, 05:49 PM
  5. Who can reprogram a key fob

    By nine8civicSi in forum In Car Entertainment / Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 02-15-2004, 12:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •