Quantcast
15.4" - 17" Laptops - Beyond.ca - Car Forums

Thread: 15.4" - 17" Laptops

My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5

Default 15.4" - 17" Laptops

Budget is around 1500, obviously prefer to not spend that much.

http://www.memoryexpress.com/Product...E%29.aspx?cc=1

http://configure.dell.com/dellstore/...&vw=list&frb=1

Basically the same price, the dell has 3GB of video vs 1.5GB and Asus has 1080p vs 900p on the dell. What 3gb vs 1.5gb means in real world application I have no clue, I'm not very tech savvy. I wonder if you can even tell the difference between 1080 and 900 on such a small screen?

I'm not opposed to getting a 15.4" either but these struck my interest. Basically looking for something that will run Crysis well, possibly do HDMI out to a TV and run editing software flawlessly like Lightroom and Photoshop (which are sluggish as hell on my lappy now).

Or do I not need to even spend that much based on my requirements?

Cheers.
    Ultracrepidarian

The g73 blows the xps away. The 460 is a superior card to the 445 and runs DDR5 as opposed to DDR3 . The 1080p screen on the g73 is a must have especially for photoshop or other editing software and can be scaled down to 1600x900 for better gaming performance (if needed) without any noticeable loss in quality. The cooling on the G73 is also miles ahead of the xps. It runs cool and quiet even under load. The last thing you want while gaming is for your laptop to sound like a jet fighter taking off.

My Ride
    2003 Subaru WRX Stg. 2

g73 is a way better machine. Also Asus comes with a 2 year warranty standard(aslong as you register your laptop within 30 days of purchase)

My Ride
    STi

My friend has the g73. It's powerful but It's absolutely HUGE. If you don't mind lugging it around, it's a really good laptop.

My Ride
    10' 4Runner SR5

Thanks guys.

Size isn't a huge concern as I'll have my small 14" lappy now for my last semester of school.