Quantcast
Telus or Shaw FTTH Fiber to Home Connector? - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Telus or Shaw FTTH Fiber to Home Connector?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,589
    Rep Power
    11

    Default Telus or Shaw FTTH Fiber to Home Connector?

    Hey guys,

    Anyone who has shaw or telus fiber optic straight to their home, what kind of a connector is used to connect to the modem?

    Does it look like this?



    or more like this

    Last edited by eblend; 02-27-2011 at 11:24 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    09 Evo X
    Posts
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I've got Telus fibre to the home. It was similar to the second picture and green.

    It then gets fed into what looks like an old Shaw beige cable modem which converts the signal to cat5 and then feeds to the Telus router.

    I'd take a picture but the fibre connection is covered in a box with a lock bolt I haven't seen before.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,589
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Originally posted by Castoh1
    I've got Telus fibre to the home. It was similar to the second picture and green.

    It then gets fed into what looks like an old Shaw beige cable modem which converts the signal to cat5 and then feeds to the Telus router.

    I'd take a picture but the fibre connection is covered in a box with a lock bolt I haven't seen before.
    This green connector, is that something that is outside in a gray box (the box you are refering to?), or something that gets fed into the home?

    Could you possibly take a picture? Really curious of the setup, just a picture of the whole modem/router and the box you speak of?

    Want to get a good idea of what things look like.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    09 Evo X
    Posts
    0
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    First picture is the fibre coming into the box. It was originally attached to a copper line as well which they rolled up above.



    It then feeds out of this into the converter which has a cat5 output feeding the actiontec modem.



    No good shots of the connectors unfortunately other than the cat5 coming out of the box.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,589
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Awesome thanks, so looks like there isn't a fiber connection going to a fiber modem of any kind that is user accessible, it gets split before hand into a telephone and ethernet line.

    Thanks for the info!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Busa
    Posts
    403
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Originally posted by eblend
    Awesome thanks, so looks like there isn't a fiber connection going to a fiber modem of any kind that is user accessible, it gets split before hand into a telephone and ethernet line.

    Thanks for the info!
    Negatory, that's an actual fiber line going to the fiber modem (white x-boxish looking thing). They are terminated and then the case itself closes on the line to prevent disconnection. The reason being that there is huge liability if someone were to disconnect the line and blind themselves.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Calgary AB
    My Ride
    2020 Subaru Forester Sport
    Posts
    2,589
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Originally posted by UndrgroundRider


    Negatory, that's an actual fiber line going to the fiber modem (white x-boxish looking thing). They are terminated and then the case itself closes on the line to prevent disconnection. The reason being that there is huge liability if someone were to disconnect the line and blind themselves.
    Ahh, interesting, good to know. If they are that concerned about it, than my plan to have a plug like this in my networking shelf wouln't have worked anyways.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    My Ride
    Avalanche/Nightrod
    Posts
    889
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Not to hijack your thread, but does Shaw offer FTTH? I thought only Telus did. Must be pricey!

Similar Threads

  1. Shaw Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) Trial

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 110
    Latest Threads: 08-31-2013, 05:41 PM
  2. TELUS will be providing new homes with FTTH

    By ipeefreely in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Latest Threads: 03-14-2010, 05:34 PM
  3. Best Home Phone Service(Rogers,Telus,Shaw...etc)

    By Dren in forum Computers, Consoles, and other Electronics
    Replies: 16
    Latest Threads: 06-20-2006, 07:41 AM
  4. WTB: Carbon Fiber splitters and Carbon fiber over fenders

    By Del Slow in forum Automotive Parts [Aero/Styling/Interior]
    Replies: 0
    Latest Threads: 04-24-2005, 12:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •